How to collaborate with Fraunhofer IDMT

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Using the expertise of numerous international partners from business, education, and science, as well as the capacities and capabilities of Fraunhofer’s broad research landscape, Fraunhofer IDMT is able to leverage the potential of a strong network of competencies and partners.

Among our range of services are:

  • Contract research up to prototype production
  • Research collaborations, development services, and consulting services
  • Licensing of technologies and systems
  • Expert opinion reports, studies, and concepts

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fraunhofer IDMT develops and implements innovative solutions tailored to individual needs for practical applications in the fields of installed & live sound, machine acoustics, automotive audio, and consumer electronics.

© Photo Bregenzer Festspiele

Installed & Live Sound

In the field of Installed & Live Sound we develop individual, application oriented 3D sound systems and tools that meet the users request for a spatial and directional sound reproduction and for the simulation of virtual room acoustics.

Automotive Audio


Fraunhofer IDMT’s research and development activities range from fully integrated sound systems for premium vehicles to methods for audio reproduction for selected areas within the car to models for simulation of subjective sound perception. We also develop tools for designing synthetically produced sounds that can be used to meet specific requirements when driving e-cars or hybrid cars

 

Virtual Engineering

Fraunhofer IDMT develops solutions by which the acoustic behavior of machines, facilities or products can be simulated, auralized (made audible) and manipulated. Research and development activities regarding machine acoustics comprise methods and tools for virtualizing and adapting acoustic product properties and for active noise reduction.

We offer a broad range of professional services and develops customized solutions. Over ten years of experience in audio technology, psychoacoustics, and electroacoustics, together with state-of-the-art special facilities and test equipment, makes Fraunhofer IDMT a reliable and innovative research and development partner.

Research and Development

We develop, optimize and integrate technologies and methods for recording, analyzing, reproducing and evaluating sound, including the development of prototypes. Our range of services also includes methods for active noise reduction. By leveraging diverse competencies and capacities of Fraunhofer’s research and development landscape, as well as the expertise from our network of industry partners, we are capable of meeting also high-level project requirements.

Project Planning, Design, and Implementation

We support our clients in project planning and design, and implementation of:

  • innovative sound concepts and audio system solutions,
  • novel loudspeaker systems,
  • complex audio signal processing systems and algorithms,
  • audiovisual test methods, and
  • individual user interfaces for editing and controlling audio signals.

Acoustic Measurements

Among other things, we conduct the following measurements:

  • Characterization of electroacoustic transducers, e.g. loudspeakers
  • Characterization of audio reproduction systems
  • Characterization and parametrization of sound fields, e.g. sound power
  • Room acoustics measurements, e.g. reverberation time, speech intelligibility
  • Dummy head recording
  • Analysis of structure-borne sound by laser scanning vibrometer and accelerometer
  • Psychoacoustic analysis and parametrization of sound signals, e.g. loudness, sharpness
  • Measurement of acoustic parameters, e.g. absorption, reflection, transmission index

Acoustic Simulations

We conduct computer simulations with regard to the following fields:

  • Room acoustics, e.g. conference rooms
  • Vibro acoustics, e.g. vibrations of enclosures
  • Enviromental noise
  • Speaker building

Measurement of Audiovisual Quality and Product Perception

We support product development process and benchmarking with following evaluation services:

  • Perceptual evaluation according to technical standards (e.g. ITU-R, ITU-T, EBU, DIN and ISO)
  • Psychoacoustic audio signal analysis
  • Algorithmic estimation of product audio quality
  • Development of new test methods, assessing ergonomics, affective states, and quality of experience 

Consultancy, Scientific Studies and Expert Opinion Reports

With our knowledge and experience we support clients in preparation of scientific studies or expert opinion reports. Moreover, we offer consultancy services in planning and conducting unbiased, valid, and reliable perception tests as well as data analysis and documentation, fulfilling scientific standards.

Wie Sie mit uns zusammen arbeiten können

Mit zahlreichen internationalen Partnern aus Industrie, Bildung und Wissenschaft und als Teil der Fraunhofer-Forschungslandschaft greift das Fraunhofer IDMT zur Realisierung der Projekte auf ein starkes Kompetenz- und Partnernetzwerk zurück.

Zu unserem Leistungsangebot gehören:

  • Auftragsforschung und -entwicklung
  • Forschungskooperationen, Entwicklungsdienstleistungen und Beratung
  • Lizenzen für Technologien und Systeme
  • Erstellung von Gutachten, Studien und Konzepten

Als erfahrener Technologie- und Entwicklungspartner konzipiert und realisiert das Fraunhofer IDMT innovative und bedarfsgerechte Lösungen für die Bereiche Installed & Live Sound, Automotive Audio, Unterhaltungselektronik sowie Maschinenakustik.

© Foto Bregenzer Festspiele

Installed und Live Sound

Für den Bereich Installed und Live Sound entwickeln wir 3D- Beschallungssysteme und Werkzeuge, die den steigenden Bedarf an Lösungen zur räumlichen Schallwiedergabe, zur richtungsgerechten Beschallung und zur Erzeugung von virtuellem Raumklang decken.

Automotive Audio

Unser Portfolio im Bereich Automotive Audio reicht von komplett integrierbaren Raumklangsystemen für Premiumfahrzeuge, über selektive Audiowiedergabeverfahren für bestimmte Zuhörerbereiche bis hin zur Entwicklung von Werkzeugen zur Gestaltung von synthetisch erzeugten Klängen für Elektro- und Hybridfahrzeuge entwickelt.

Virtual Engineering

Im Bereich Virtual Engineering bieten wir Lösungen, um das akustische Verhalten von Maschinen, Anlagen oder technischen Konsumgütern zu simulieren, hörbar zu machen und gezielt zu beeinflussen. Hierfür entwickeln wir Verfahren und Werkzeuge zur Virtualisierung und Anpassung akustischer Produkteigenschaften sowie zur aktiven Geräuschunterdrückung und Lärmkompensation.

Wir bieten Ihnen ein breites Spektrum an professionellen Dienstleistungen. Über zehn Jahre Erfahrung in den Bereichen Audiotechnik, Psycho- und Elektroakustik sowie hochmodern ausgestattete Spezialräume und Prüfstände machen uns zu einem zuverlässigen und erfahrenen Partner.

Forschung und Entwicklung

Für unsere Kunden bieten wir umfangreiche Dienstleistungen im Bereich Forschung und Entwicklung an. Wir entwickeln, optimieren und integrieren Technologien und Verfahren zur Aufzeichnung, Analyse, Wiedergabe und Bewertung von Schall bis hin zur Herstellung von Prototypen. Zum Angebotsportfolio gehören darüber hinaus Verfahren zur aktiven Störschallreduzierung und Lärmminderung. Durch die Bündelung von Kompetenzen und Kapazitäten innerhalb der Fraunhofer-Forschungslandschaft sowie ein Netzwerk aus Industriepartnern werden wir auch umfassenden Projektanforderungen gerecht.

Planung, Konzeption und Realisierung

Wir unterstützen bei der Planung und Konzeption von Projektvorhaben, bieten Beratungsleistungen an und übernehmen auf Wunsch auch die Realisierung von:

  • Innovativen Beschallungskonzepten und komplexen Audiosystemlösungen
  • Neuartigen Lautsprechersystemen
  • Komplexen Audiosignalverarbeitungssystemen und -algorithmen
  • Audiovisuellen Testverfahren
  • Individuellen User Interfaces zur Bearbeitung und Steuerung von Audiosignalen

Akustische Messungen

Unsere umfangreiche technische Ausstattung ermöglicht die Durchführung einer Vielzahl von akustischen Messungen, die bei der objektiven Einschätzung der akustischen Eigenschaften des Untersuchungsgegenstands helfen. Bei Bedarf sind wir für unsere Kunden auch Ansprechpartner zur Entwicklung neuartiger, innovativer Messverfahren.

Messungen, die wir für unsere Kunden durchführen, sind u. a.:

  • Untersuchung und Charakterisierung elektroakustischer Wandler bzw. Lautsprecher
  • Untersuchung von Audio-Wiedergabesystemen
  • Schallfeldanalyse, Schallleistungsbestimmung
  • Raumakustische Messungen (z. B. Nachhallzeit, Sprachverständlichkeit)
  • Aufnahmen mittels Kunstkopf
  • Körperschallanalyse mittels Laser-Doppler-Vibrometrie bzw. Beschleunigungsaufnehmer
  • Psychoakustische Analyse (z. B. Lautheit, Schärfe)
  • Absorptions-, Reflexions- und Transmissionsgradmessungen

Akustische Simulationen

Mit Computersimulationen unterstützen wir unsere Kunden in der Produktentwicklung, in der Planung von Systeminstallationen sowie bei der Beurteilung von raum- bzw. lärmakustischen Umgebungen. Anhand der Simulationsergebnisse lässt sich so bereits während der Planungsphase Aufschluss über erforderliche Anpassungen und Optimierungsschritte geben. Wir bieten Simulationen für folgende Bereiche an:

  • Raum- und Vibroakustik
  • Umgebungs- und Verkehrslärm
  • Lautsprecherbau

Audiovisuelle Qualitäts- und Produktbewertungen

Wir ermöglichen folgende Qualitäts- und Produktbewertungen:

  • Durchführung standardisierter Hörtests (nach ITU-R, ITU-T, EBU, DIN und ISO)
  • Objektive Bewertungen und psychoakustische Analysen der akustischen Qualität von Produkten
  • Entwicklung neuer, den Kundenbedürfnissen angepasster Tests zur Bewertung von Ergonomie, affektiven Aspekten oder Quality of Experience

Beratung, Studien und Gutachten

Die aufgeführten Leistungen, wie Konzeptentwurf, Messung, Simulation, Bewertung u. a. können auch als Studie oder Gutachten beauftragt werden. Außerdem beraten wir bei der Planung und Durchführung von reliablen und validen Tests, der statistischen Analyse der Daten sowie der Ergebnisdokumentation und -präsentation entsprechend wissenschaftlicher Standards.