Groups

Audio System Technology for Assistive Systems

The working group “Audio System Technology for Assistive Systems” conducts research on methods of speech recognition in man-machine communication as well as automatic event detection as part of acoustic monitoring. Application fields include control of technical systems and acoustic status monitoring of technical installations and public spaces or to support care services.

Head of Group Dr.-Ing. Stefan Goetze

 

Audio Quality and Auditory Models

The working group “Audio Quality and Auditory Models” develops measuring methods and models that describe the auditory perception of normal and impaired hearing. Research examines the factors that influence speech intelligibility and subjectively perceived sound quality. As part of its contract research activities, the working group develops customer-specific evaluation methods for quality control in sound design.

Head of Group Dr. Jan Rennies-Hochmuth

 

Personalized Hearing Systems

The working group “Personalized Hearing Systems” develops technologies that allow users to adapt audio reproduction in media and communication devices to their personal hearing preferences. In addition to improving speech intelligibility and sound quality, it is also possible to compensate for individual hearing loss.

Head of Group Dr. Jan Rennies-Hochmuth

Gruppen

Audiosystemtechnik für assistive Systeme

Die Gruppe »Audiosystemtechnik für assistive Systeme« forscht an Verfahren zur Spracherkennung in der Mensch-Maschine-Kommunikation und zur automatischen Ereigniserkennung im akustischen Monitoring. Anwendungsgebiete sind die Steuerung von technischen Systeme und die akustische Zustandsüberwachung von technischen Anlagen, öffentlichen Räumen oder in der Pflege.

Leitung Dr.-Ing. Stefan Goetze

 

Audioqualität und auditorische Modellierung

Die Gruppe »Audioqualität und auditorische Modellierung« entwickelt Messverfahren und Modelle, die die Hörwahrnehmung des normalen und des beeinträchtigten Gehörs beschreiben. Dabei wird erforscht, welche Faktoren die Sprachverständlichkeit und die subjektiv empfundene Klangqualität beeinflussen. Im Rahmen der Auftragforschung entwickelt die Arbeitsgruppe kundenspezifische Bewertungsverfahren für die Qualitätskontrolle im Sounddesign.

Leitung Dr. Jan Rennies-Hochmuth

 

Persönliche Hörsysteme

Die Gruppe »Persönliche Hörsysteme« entwickelt Technologien, mit denen Nutzer die Audiowiedergabe in Medien- und Kommunikationsgeräten an ihre persönlichen Hörpräferenzen anpassen können. Eine Verbesserung von Sprachverständlichkeit und Klangqualität ist so auch für Menschen mit  Hörminderungen möglich.

Leitung Dr. Jan Rennies-Hochmuth