Prof. Dr. Dr. Birger Kollmeier

Birger Kollmeier is Director, Oldenburg Branch for Hearing, Speech and Audio Technology HSA at Fraunhofer IDMT and Director of the Department for Medical Physics and Acoustics at Carl von Ossietzky University of Oldenburg. Since 2012 he is Coordinator of the Cluster of Excellence 1077 “Hearing4all”.


Academic and Professional Milestones

  • Since 1996, Scientific Director and CEO of Hörzentrum Oldenburg GmbH, institute at the University of Oldenburg and at the Protestant Hospital Oldenburg
  • Since 1993, Professor of Applied Physics/Experimental Physics; since 2001, tenured professor at the Carl von Ossietzky University of Oldenburg
  • 1992 Habilitation in Physics on »Measuring methodology, modelling and improvement of speech intelligibility« at the University of Göttingen
  • 1989 Doctorate in Medicine on binaural hearing aids, University of Göttingen
  • 1986 to 1993 University assistant; from 1992, lecturer in Department of Physics, 3rd Institute of Physics
  • 1986 Doctorate in Physics on psychoacoustics under Prof. Dr. M.R. Schroeder, University of Göttingen


Other Activities and Offices

  • Since 2008, spokesperson for the research group “Individualised hearing acoustics”
  • Since 2008, spokesperson for the Centre of Hearing Research (Carl von Ossietzky University Oldenburg and Hannover Medical School)
  • 2001 to 2010 Spokesperson of the International Research Training Group for Neurosensorics
  • Spokesperson of the centre of excellence for hearing aid system technology (HörTech gGmbH, winner of BMBF competition “Centres of excellence for medical technology”)
  • Since 2011, General Secretary of the European Federation of Audiological Societies
  • 2005 to 2007 Director of the Institute of Physics at the Carl von Ossietzky University of Oldenburg
  • 2003 to 2005 President of the German Society of Audiology (DGA)


Main Research

  • Speech Perception
  • Psychoacoustics
  • Digital  Signal Processing
  • Medical Physical Diagnostics



  • 2012 German President´s Award for Technology and Innovation (Deutscher Zukunftspreis), together with Volker Hohmann und Torsten Niederdränk  
  • 2012 International Award of the American Academy of Audiology
  • 2011  Science Award of the State of Lower Saxony, category outstanding scientist at a university
  • 2009 Karl Küpfmüller Ring,  TU Darmstadt
  • 2002 Award of the Association of German Hearing Aid Acousticians
  • 2001  Alcatel SEL Research Award „Technical Communication“
  • 1995 Lothar Cremer Award of the German Acoustical Society (DEGA)
  • 1990 Ernst Preuss Award of the Medical Faculty Göttingen