KI-MUSIK 4.0

Universal AI Sensor Interface for Industry 4.0

Intelligent technologies present significant competitive advantages in manufacturing. High-performance microelectronics in combination with sensor technology and embedded software are responsible for gathering and processing process data in industrial plants. This already today facilitates a comprehensive digitisation of manufacturing processes and operating procedures in Industry 4.0.

The »KI-MUSIK4.0« (Microelectronics-based Universal Sensor Interface with Artificial Intelligence for Industry 4.0) project is dedicated to the next generation of intelligent, increasingly autonomous manufacturing systems. The aim is to make the latest electronics technologies together with artificial intelligence methods (AI) usable for industrial applications. This new quality of data processing on the spot facilitates reliable decentralised analysis and forecasting.

Objectives

Innovative acoustic sensors can deliver a lot of information about machine status for the monitoring of industrial plants and machines. In the framework of the project, sensors are being developed for use in a distributed network. A special feature is that each sensor can pre-process and analyse large volumes of data by means of AI. As a consequence, each sensor unit transmits far less and much more reliable information to the base station. The quantities of data to be transmitted are considerably reduced, communication is accelerated and the user can monitor the production plant in real time. Alongside the development of innovative, energy-efficient sensor concepts, the planned research work also includes elements of machine learning.

Expected project results from real production processes point out the considerable economic potential of the microelectronic components and systems. The innovative sensor concepts are more reliable, faster and energy-saving. If the project is successful, a wide range of different applications, especially in the area of Industry 4.0, can profit from its results and findings – for example, the predictive maintenance of production plants.

Tasks of the IDMT-HSA

  • Development of distributed, intelligent, single-channel and multichannel acoustic sensor systems
  • Research into AI methods in the field of machine learning for the acoustic error and status monitoring of machines and plants in individual applications and their deployment in sensor networks
  • Investigation and further development of signal pre-processing methods and processes in order to achieve the following objectives:
    • Reduction of application-specific disturbance variables
    • Increasing the robustness of AI methods
    • Reduction of data volumes for resource-efficient further processing and modelling as well as for performance optimisation, e.g. for the status detection of plant and machine components
  • Research into methods for the presentation – in digital form and a manner conducive to AI concepts – of expert know-how in the sense of an expert-in-the-loop approach (methods contribute to the efficient development of monitoring applications and knowledge bases and thus to improving the monitoring of industrial processes)

The project KI-MUSIK 4.0 is funded by the German Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) (16ME0076).

Machine listening for smart decisions

With us, you use the acoustic fingerprint of events to make intelligent decisions automatically - for your processes and products.

KI-MUSIK 4.0

Universelle KI-Sensor-Schnittstelle für Industrie 4.0

Intelligente Technologien stellen in der Fertigung entscheidende Wettbewerbsvorteile dar. Hochleistungsfähige Mikroelektronik in Kombination mit Sensorik und eingebetteter Software sammelt und verarbeitet Prozessdaten in Industrieanlagen. Das ermöglicht bereits jetzt eine umfassende Digitalisierung von Produktionsprozessen und Betriebsabläufen in der Industrie 4.0.

Das Projekt »KI-MUSIK4.0« (Mikroelektronik-basierte universelle Sensor-Schnittstelle mit Künstlicher Intelligenz für Industrie 4.0) ist der nächsten Generation intelligenter, zunehmend autonomer Produktionssysteme gewidmet. Neueste Elektroniktechnologien sollen zusammen mit Methoden der Künstlichen Intelligenz (KI) für industrielle Anwendungen nutzbar werden. Diese neue Qualität der Datenverarbeitung am Ort des Geschehens ermöglicht eine sichere dezentrale Analyse- und Prognosefähigkeit. 

Ziele des Projekts

Für die Überwachung industrieller Anlagen und Maschinen können neuartige akustische Sensoren besonders viele Informationen über den Maschinenzustand liefern. Im Vorhaben werden Sensoren für die Nutzung in einem verteilten Netzwerk entwickelt. Eine Besonderheit ist, dass jeder Sensor große Datenmengen mittels KI vorverarbeiten und bewerten kann. Somit sendet jede Sensoreinheit deutlich weniger und zuverlässigere Informationen an die Basisstation. Die zu versendenden Datenmengen reduzieren sich erheblich, die Kommunikation wird beschleunigt und der Nutzer kann die Produktionsanlagen in Echtzeit überwachen. Die geplanten Forschungsarbeiten umfassen neben der Entwicklung neuartiger, energieeffizienter Sensorkonzepte auch Aspekte des maschinellen Lernens.

Die geplanten Vorhabenergebnisse aus realen Produktionsprozessen weisen auf das große wirtschaftliche Potenzial der mikroelektronischen Komponenten und Systeme hin. Die neuartigen Sensorkonzepte sind zuverlässiger, schneller und energiesparend. Unterschiedlichste Anwendungen speziell im Bereich der Industrie 4.0, können im Erfolgsfall von den Ergebnissen und Erkenntnissen aus dem Projekt profitieren – so z.B. auch der Bereich der prädiktiven Wartung von Produktionsanlagen.

Aufgabenbereiche des IDMT-HSA

  • Entwicklung von verteilten intelligenten akustischen ein- und mehrkanaligen Sensorsystemen
  • Erforschung von KI-Methoden im Bereich des maschinellen Lernens zur akustischen Fehler- und Zustandsüberwachung von Maschinen und Anlagen in einzelnen Anwendungsfällen und deren Einsatz in Sensornetzwerken
  • Erforschung und Weiterentwicklung von Signalvorverarbeitungsmethoden und –verfahren zur Erreichung folgender Ziele:
    • Reduktion anwendungsspezifischer Störgrößen
    • Steigerung der Robustheit von KI-Methoden
    • Reduktion des Datenumfangs für die ressourceneffiziente Weiterverarbeitung und Modellierung sowie zur Optimierung der Leistungsfähigkeit etwa im Kontext der Zustandserkennung von Anlagen- und Maschinenkomponenten
  • Erforschung von Methoden zur digitalen und für KI-Ansätze zuträglichen Abbildung von Expertenwissen im Sinne eines Expert-in-the-Loop Ansatzes (Methoden tragen zum effizienten Aufbau von Monitoring-Anwendungen und Wissensbasen und damit zur Verbesserung der Überwachung von Industrieprozessen bei)

Partner

  • Schaeffler Technologies AG & Co. KG (Koordination)
  • Infineon Technologies AG
  • Festo AG & Co. KG
  • Balluff GmbH
  • IMS Gear SE & Co. KGaA
  • robodev GmbH
  • Binder-Elektronik GmbH
  • Stackforce GmbH
  • Knowtion UG
  • Hahn-Schickard-Gesellschaft für angewandte Forschung e.V.
  • Fraunhofer-Institut für Mikroelektronische Schaltungen und Systeme IMS
  • Universität des Saarlandes, Lehrstuhl für Messtechnik

Förderer

  • Gefördert durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung BMBF
  • Förderkennzeichen: 16ME0076

Projektvolumen

Gesamtvolumen: 9,43 Mio. €

BMBF-Förderung: 5,72 Mio. € (61 %)

Laufzeit

01.04.2020 – 31.03.2023