Computer Hearing

Using machine learning methods such as neural networks, the Fraunhofer researchers work on teaching computers the complex skill of hearing. Audio signal processing is modelled here on human hearing processes.

Acoustic Monitoring

Computer-based methods for acoustic event recognition are developed at the Fraunhofer IDMT – from recognition of individual acoustic events through to analysis of complex scenarios. One application area is inpatient or home care: potentially dangerous situations such as breaking glass, frequent coughing or calls for help are acoustically recognised. As part of corresponding research projects, scientists investigate the potential solutions and methods that will allow use of acoustic data in networked buildings and cities for applications in the fields of security, traffic management and energy efficiency. Abnormal operating noises can also be detected acoustically, e.g. in vehicles, in status monitoring of machines or for acoustic end-of-line checks in industrial production.

Range of Services

  • Computer-based detection of defined events as well as complex scenarios
  • Development of application- and customer-specific recogniser technologies
  • Microphoning
  • Embedding signal processing in hardware systems (microprocessor and DSP) and in sensor networks
  • Integration of signal processing in mobile applications (apps)

Products and Solutions

 

SonicSentinel

An intelligent sound monitor for care homes

In addition to the usual display of the light call in the duty room, SonicSentinel also displays additional information about the type of emergency. This optimizes the reaction times of the care staff and improves care quality.

 

Press Release / 9.12.2013

App recognizes type of cough by sound

Fraunhofer IDMT develops acoustic cough recognition for Boehringer Ingelheim

Research

 

Press Release / 14.6.2016

Industry 4.0 Learns How to Hear

In the joint project ACME 4.0, partners from industry and research will investigate the potential of acoustically monitoring machines and production processes.

 

Acoustic Monitoring in Smart Cities

Insight into Our Research

How can acoustic data be collected in networked buildings and cities and used for applications in the areas of energy efficiency, security and transport?

 

 

 

How Computers Learn to Hear

Insight into Our Research

In order to teach computers to hear, scientists from the Project Group for Hearing, Speech and Audio Technology at the Fraunhofer IDMT work together with scientists conducting fundamental research at the University of Oldenburg to develop computer models that simulate the human sense of hearing.

Interview mit Dr. Stefan Goetze

Computer-Hören

Mithilfe von Verfahren des Maschinenlernens arbeiten die Fraunhofer- Forscher daran, Computern die komplexe Fähigkeit des Hörens beizubringen. Dabei wird die Verarbeitung des Audiosignals der Verarbeitung im menschlichen Gehör nachempfunden.

Akustisches Monitoring

Am Fraunhofer IDMT werden computerbasierte Verfahren zur akustischen Ereigniserkennung entwickelt – von dem Erkennen einzelner akustischer Ereignisse bis zur Analyse komplexer Szenen. Ein Anwendungsgebiet ist die stationäre oder häusliche Pflege: potentiell gefährliche Situationen wie Glasbruch, häufiges Husten oder Hilferufe werden akustisch erkannt. Im Rahmen von Forschungsprojekten untersuchen die Wissenschaftler Potenziale und Verfahren, um akustische Daten in vernetzten Gebäuden und Städten für Anwendungen im Bereich Sicherheit, Verkehr und Energieeffizienz zu nutzen. Auch Unregelmäßigkeiten von Betriebsgeräuschen können akustisch detektiert werden, z. B. im Fahrzeug, bei der Zustandsüberwachung von Maschinen oder zur akustischen End-of-line-Kontrolle in der industriellen Produktion.

Leistungsangebot

  • Entwicklung von anwendungsspezifischen Erkennertechnologien
  • Mikrofonierung
  • Einbettung der Signalverarbeitung in Hardwaresysteme (Mikroprozessor und DSP) und in Sensornetzwerke
  • Integration der Signalverabeitung in mobile Anwendungen (Apps)

 

Produkte und Lösungen

 

Fraunhofer IDMT in den Medien

Akustische Detektion von Graffiti-Sprayern

Das Fraunhofer IDMT und die Sikom Software GmbH haben eine Sensorplattform entwickelt, um unerwünschtes Graffiti-Sprayen akustisch zu detektieren.

 

SonicSentinel

Ein intelligenter Schallwächter für die Pflege

Neben der üblichen Anzeige des Lichtrufs zeigt SonicSentinel zusätzliche Informationen zur Art des Notfalls an. So werden die Reaktionszeiten des Pflegepersonals optimiert und die Pflegequalität erhöht

 

Pressemitteilung / 9.12.2013

App erkennt Hustenart am Klang

Fraunhofer IDMT entwickelt akustische Hustenerkennung im Auftrag von Boehringer Ingelheim

Aktuelle Forschung

 

Pressemitteilung / 14.6.2016

Industrie 4.0 lernt hören

Im Verbundprojekt ACME 4.0 untersuchen Partner aus Industrie und Forschung das Potenzial der akustischen Überwachung von Maschinen und Produktionsprozessen.

 

Akustisches Monitoring in Smart Cities

Einblick in unsere Forschung

Im Forschungsprojekt EarIt wurde untersucht, wie akustisches Monitoring in Smart Cities und Smart Buildings für Anwendungen im Bereich Sicherheit, Verkehr und Energieeffizienz genutzt werden kann.

 

 

Wie Computer das Hören lernen

Einblick in unsere Forschung

Um Computern das Hören beizubringen, entwickeln Wissenschaftler der Projektgruppe Hör-, Sprach- und Audiotechnologie in Kooperation mit der Grundlagenforschung an der Universität Oldenburg Rechenmodelle, die den menschlichen Hörsinn simulieren.

Interview mit Dr. Stefan Goetze