Individual sound quality and good speech intelligibility

What distinguishes good sound? Why are some sounds perceived as annoying? When does music sound “just right” to the individual? How can speech intelligibility be evaluated objectively and optimized in a needs-oriented way?

The “Personalized Hearing Systems” group at Fraunhofer IDMT in Oldenburg has answers to these questions. Based on findings from psychoacoustics and in close exchange with clients, partners and alliances, such as the Hearing4all cluster of excellence, IDMT’s experts develop computer models that simulate our personal hearing perception. This forms the cornerstone for intelligent hearing solutions that optimize sound experience individually for each listener. Because everyone hears differently well!

Individual and better hearing is defined – depending on the application – according to various sound parameters, such as speech intelligibility, listening effort, sound quality, loudness, harshness or annoyance.

Our services for you:

  • Development of application-specific signal processing methods and operating interfaces
  • Hardware development and optimization
  • Embedding of signal processing algorithms in hardware and mobile applications (apps)
  • Computer-based, psychoacoustic evaluation of sound quality and speech intelligibility
  • Perception models for various sound parameters
  • Studies on the subjective evaluation of speech and sound quality with people with normal hearing and people hard of hearing from all age groups

Personalized sound quality

 

Everyone has a personal sound preference and their own perception of loudness. That is why we develop techniques to adjust audio playback to individual hearing requirements, e.g. in smartphones, hearables, consumer electronics, notebooks or in-car infotainment systems. Our solutions are intended both for people with normal hearing and people with hearing impairments.

Sectors and Markets

  • Automotive
  • Hearables, headphones and headsets
  • Telecommunication and telephony
  • Consumer electronics
  • Solutions for call centres and service centres
  • Room acoustics

Speech intelligibility

 

Our software solutions are able to measure, display and optimize speech intelligibility – automatically if needed. An optimal understanding of speech can create significant added value – for example, in the context of railway station announcements, mobile telephony, noisy workplaces or in-car infotainment systems. In media production, an objective evaluation of speech intelligibility can ensure consistently high quality.

Sectors and Markets

  • Broadcasting and media production
  • Streaming and media libraries
  • Telecommunication and consumer electronics
  • Conference systems
  • Infotainment systems (e.g. in cars or aircraft)
  • Hearing aids
  • Security-critical areas
  • Public address systems

Evaluation and User Studies

 

We conduct hearing tests and model-based analyses in the framework of research projects or on behalf of clients. For this purpose, we have various laboratories and chambers as well as a central test subject database at our disposal in Oldenburg. We have extensive expertise in transposing complex aspects of hearing perception into instrumental parameters, which our clients can use to optimize the sound of their products and systems.

Facilities

  • Communication acoustics simulator
  • Study lab with home and work environments
  • Audiometric booths
  • Acoustics measurement lab
  • Audio lab
  • Mobile EEG

Products and solutions

 

In-ear AI

We develop the hearable for the smart industrial workplace.

 

Press information / 22.8.2019

The simple way to good, personalized sound

Under the name earis®, Humantechnik GmbH markets a TV listening system developed in collaboration with Fraunhofer IDMT in Oldenburg.

 

Press information / 10.12.2020

Red when mumbling!

By incorporating speech intelligibility technology into its current solution, Steinberg’s Nuendo now uses a traffic light system to indicate how well the spoken word is objectively understood by listeners.

R&D-Services and Licencing

Please contact us in case you are interested in our expertise and services.

Oldenburg Branch for Hearing, Speech and Audio Technology HSA

The objective of the Oldenburg Branch for Hearing, Speech and Audio Technology HSA of the Fraunhofer Institute for Digital Media Technology IDMT is to transfer scientific findings related to hearing perception and man-machine interaction into technological..

 

An insight into our research / 6.11.2019

Interview with Dr. Jan Rennies-Hochmuth

That sound preferences differ from person to person is a factor that should not be underestimated when designing multimedia solutions.

»Hearing4all« research cluster

Fraunhofer IDMT-HSA is a partner in the »Hearing4all« cluster of excellence.

Individuelle Klangqualität und gute Sprachverständlichkeit

Was macht einen guten Klang aus? Warum werden einige Geräusche als lästig empfunden? Wann klingt Musik individuell „genau richtig“? Wie lässt sich Sprachverständlichkeit objektiv bewerten und bedarfsgerecht optimieren?

Auf diese Fragen hält die Gruppe »Persönliche Hörsysteme« am Fraunhofer IDMT in Oldenburg Antworten bereit. Basierend auf Erkenntnissen der Psychoakustik und im engen Austausch mit Kunden, Partnern und Verbünden, wie dem Excellenzcluster Hearing4All, entwickeln die Expertinnen und Experten Computermodelle, die unsere persönliche Hörwahrnehmung simulieren. Dies bildet den Grundstein für intelligente Hörlösungen, welche das Klangerlebnis für jeden Zuhörenden individuell optimieren. Denn: Jeder Mensch hört anders gut!

Individuelles und besseres Hören wird dabei je nach Anwendung anhand verschiedener Klangparameter definiert, wie z.B. Sprachverständlichkeit, Höranstrengung, Klangqualität, Lautheit, Rauigkeit oder Lästigkeit.

Unsere Leistungen für Sie:

  • Entwicklung von anwendungsspezifischen Signalverarbeitungsverfahren und Bedienschnittstellen
  • Entwicklung und Optimierung von Hardware
  • Einbettung der Signalverabeitungsalgorithmen in Hardware sowie in mobilen Anwendungen (Apps)
  • Computerbasierte, psychoakustische Bewertung von Klangqualität und Sprachverständlichkeit
  • Wahrnehmungsmodelle für unterschiedliche Klangparameter
  • Studien zur subjektiven Bewertung von Sprach- und Klangqualität mit Normal- und Schwerhörenden aller Altersstufen

Personalisierte Klangqualität

 

Jeder Mensch hat eine persönliche Klangpräferenz und ein eigenes Lautheitsempfinden. Darum entwickeln wir Verfahren, um die Audiowiedergabe in z.B. Smartphones, Hearables, Unterhaltungselektronik, Notebooks oder Infotainment-Systemen im Auto an individuelle Hörbedürfnisse anzupassen. Die Lösungen richten sich dabei sowohl an normalhörende Menschen als auch an Menschen mit Hörbeeinträchtigungen.

Branchen und Märkte

  • Automotive
  • Hearables, Kopfhörer und Headsets
  • Telekommunikation und Telefonie
  • Unterhaltungselektronik
  • Call- und Service-Center-Lösungen
  • Raumakustik

Sprachverständlichkeit

 

Von uns entwickelte Softwarelösungen sind in der Lage, die Verständlichkeit von Sprache zu messen, anzuzeigen und zu optimieren – auf Wunsch auch automatisch. Ein optimales Verständnis von Sprache schafft zum Teil gravierende Mehrwerte – zum Beispiel bei Bahnhofsdurchsagen, mobilen Telefonaten, am Lärmarbeitsplatz oder in Infotainmentsystemen im Auto. Bei der Medienproduktion kann eine objektive Bewertung von Sprachverständlichkeit für eine gleichbleibend hohe Qualität sorgen.

Branchen und Märkte

  • Broadcasting und Medienproduktion
  • Streaming und Mediatheken
  • Telekommunikation und Consumer Electronics
  • Unterhaltungselektronik
  • Konferenzsysteme
  • Infotainmentsysteme im Fahrzeug (z. B. Auto, Flugzeug)
  • Hörgeräte
  • Sicherheitskritische Bereiche
  • Durchsagesysteme

Evaluation und Nutzerstudien

 

Wir führen Hörversuche und modellbasierte Bewertungen in Forschungsvorhaben oder im Kundenauftrag durch. Am Standort Oldenburg stehen uns dafür verschiedene Labore und Spezialräume sowie eine zentrale Probanden-Datenbank zur Verfügung. Wir besitzen eine hohe Expertise darin, komplexe Aspekte der Hörwahrnehmung in instrumentelle Maße zu überführen, die von unseren Kunden zur Optimierung des Klangs ihrer Produkte und Systeme genutzt werden können.

Ausstattung

  • Kommunikations-Akustik-Simulator
  • Studienlabor mit Wohn- und Büro-Umgebung
  • Hörkabinen
  • Labore für akustische Messverfahren
  • Audiolabor
  • Mobiles EEG

Produkte und Lösungen

 

KI im Ohr

Wir entwickeln das Hearable für den smarten Industriearbeitsplatz.

 

Presseinformation / 22.8.2019

Einfach zum persönlichen Wohlklang

Unter dem Namen »earis®« stellt die Humantechnik GmbH ein in der Zusammenarbeit mit dem Fraunhofer IDMT in Oldenburg entwickeltes TV-Hörsystem vor.

 

Presseinformation / 10.12.2020

Bei Nuscheln rot!

Mit der Implementierung von Technologie zur Messung der Sprachverständlichkeit in die aktuelle Produktionslösung zeigt Nuendo von Steinberg nun durch eine Ampel an, wie gut das gesprochene Wort objektiv von Zuhörenden verstanden wird.

Lizenzierung unserer Technologien

Sie haben Interesse, unsere Technologie in Ihr Produkt zu integrieren? Sie möchten unsere Expertise nutzen? Bitte nehmen Sie Kontakt mit uns auf!

Institutsteil in Oldenburg

Ziel des Oldenburger Institutsteils Hör-, Sprach- und Audiotechnologie HSA des Fraunhofer IDMT ist es, wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse über die Hörwahrnehmung und Mensch-Technik-Interaktionen in technologischen Anwendungen umzusetzen.

 

Einblick in unsere Forschung / 6.11.2019

Im Interview mit Dr. rer. nat. Jan Rennies-Hochmuth

Dass Klangpräferenzen von Mensch zu Mensch unterschiedlich sind, ist ein nicht zu unterschätzender Faktor bei der Gestaltung von Multimedia-Lösungen. Der Institutsteil Hör-, Sprach- und Audiotechnologie in Oldenburg trägt diesem Aspekt Rechnung und bringt seine Algorithmen in die Wohnzimmer. Dr. rer. nat. Jan Rennies-Hochmuth, Gruppenleiter »Persönliche Hörsysteme« erklärt, warum das Ziel »Besseres Hören für Jedermann« in vielerlei Hinsicht ein wichtiges Leitbild darstellt.

 

Forschungscluster »Hearing4All«

Das Fraunhofer IDMT-HSA ist Partner im Exzellenzcluster »Hearing4All«.