© Fraunhofer IDMT/Daniel Schmidt

Understanding more easily

The software solution AdaptDRC analyzes and optimizes speech intelligibility on the receiver side in real time.

AdaptDRC

Real-time optimization of speech intelligibility

© Fraunhofer IDMT
Scientific evaluation studies with test persons with normal and impaired hearing show that AdaptDRC makes it possible to achieve a significant improvement in speech intelligibility in different acoustic scenarios – e.g. in a cafeteria, in a hubbub of voices or next to a busy road.

The speech reproduction of communication systems is often subject to superimposed reverberation and background noise. With AdaptDRC, the Fraunhofer IDMT offers a patented software solution which automatically improves speech intelligibility in real time, even in hearing situations with unknown, variable interference noise.

 

Near-end listening enhancement – signal adaptation for interference noise on receiver side

The acoustic situation on the receiver side is detected by means of a microphone – e.g. on the rear side of cell phones – and the intelligibility of the speech signal in the current hearing situation is analyzed. On the basis of this analysis, model-based signal processing methods optimize speech intelligibility in real time. By taking into account the latest findings from hearing research, AdaptDRC achieves a high level of hearing comfort even for narrow-band signals and people suffering from hearing loss.

 

Hearing model-based signal processing

AdaptDRC uses human hearing perception models to evaluate and improve the intelligibility of a speech signal. The algorithm continuously analyzes the current intelligibility based on the speech intelligibility index SII. Signal processing is activated when intelligibility decreases, e.g. due to an increase in interference noise. Individual frequency bands are selectively boosted and the dynamic range of the signal compressed at the same time. This makes it possible to improve speech intelligibility by 30-80 percent without increasing the volume. Scientific studies with test persons with both normal and impaired hearing have shown that persons with hearing loss also benefit from signal processing and are able to understand speech signals more easily and with less hearing effort. The fact that the signal is processed only if speech intelligibility is impaired contributes to hearing comfort and naturally sounding speech reproduction.

 

Application-specific adaptation

AdaptDRC makes it possible to improve speech intelligibility in different technical systems and with different bandwidths – from conventional telephone transmission through to full bandwidths in high-quality multimedia applications. Due to the dynamic signal compression used, speech intelligibility can be improved even in difficult acoustic environments. The algorithm is available as a platform-independent C implementation and can be adapted to application-specific scenarios and technical conditions.

Licencing our Technology

Please contact us in case you are interested in integrating our software solution into your product.

Leichter verstehen im Störgeräusch

Die Softwarelösung AdaptDRC analysiert und optimiert die Sprachverständlichkeit auf Empfängerseite in Echtzeit.

AdaptDRC

Echtzeit-Optimierung von Sprachverständlichkeit

© Fraunhofer IDMT

Wissenschaftliche Evaluationen mit normal- und schwerhörenden Probanden zeigen, dass AdaptDRC eine deutliche Verbesserung der Sprachverständlichkeit in verschiedenen akustischen Szenarien ermöglicht – zum Beispiel in einer Cafeteria, bei Stimmengewirr oder in einem Fahrzeug.

Die Sprachwiedergabe von Kommunikationssystemen ist oft von Hall und Umgebungsgeräuschen überlagert. Mit AdaptDRC bietet das Fraunhofer IDMT eine patentierte Softwarelösung, die die Sprachverständlichkeit auch in Hörsituationen mit unbekannten, variablen Störgeräuschen automatisch und in Echtzeit verbessert.

 

Near-end listening enhancement –  Signalanpassung bei Störgeräuschen  auf Empfängerseite

Über ein Mikrofon – z.B. auf der Rückseite von Mobiltelefonen –, wird die akustische Situation auf Empfängerseite erfasst und die Verständlichkeit des Sprachsignals in der aktuellen Hörsituation analysiert. Anhand dieser Analyse optimieren modell-basierte Signalverarbeitungsverfahren die Sprachverständlichkeit in Echtzeit. Durch Berücksichtigung aktueller Erkenntnisse aus der Hörforschung erreicht AdaptDRC auch bei schmalbandigen Signalen und für Menschen mit Hörbeeinträchtigung einen hohen Hörkomfort.

 

Hörmodell-basierte Signalverarbeitung

AdaptDRC nutzt Modelle der menschlichen Hörwahrnehmung, um die Verständlichkeit eines Sprachsignals zu bewerten und zu verbessern. Der Algorithmus schätzt dabei kontinuierlich die aktuelle Verständlichkeit basierend auf dem Sprachverständlichkeitsindex SII. Sinkt die Verständlichkeit, z.B. durch zunehmende Störgeräusche, wird die Signalverarbeitung aktiviert. Gezielt werden einzelne Frequenzbänder verstärkt und die Dynamik des Signals komprimiert. So kann auch ohne Anheben der Lautstärke eine Verbesserung der Sprachverständlichkeit von 30-80 Prozent erreicht werden. Wissenschaftliche Studien mit normal- und schwerhörenden Probanden haben gezeigt, dass auch Menschen mit Hörminderung von der Signalverarbeitung profitieren und Sprachsignale besser und mit weniger Höranstrengung verstehen. Zum Hörkomfort und einer natürlich klingenden  Sprachwiedergabe trägt bei, dass das Signal nur dann bearbeitet wird, wenn die Sprachverständlichkeit beeinträchtigt ist.

 

Anwendungsspezifische Anpassung

Mit AdaptDRC ist eine Verbesserung der Sprachverständlichkeit in unterschiedlichen technischen Systemen und mit unterschiedlichen Bandbreiten möglich – von herkömmlicher Telefonübertragung bis zu Bandbreiten zu voller Bandbreite bei hochwertigen Multimediaanwendungen. Aufgrund der eingesetzten Dynamikkompression ist eine Verbesserung der Sprachverständlichkeit auch in schwierigen akustischen Umgebungen möglich. Der Algorithmus liegt als plattform-unabängige C-Implementierung vor, und kann an anwendungsspezifische Szenarien und technische Bedingungen angepasst werden.

 

Lizenzierung unserer Technologie

Sie haben Interesse, unsere Technologie in Ihr Produkt zu integrieren? Bitte nehmen Sie Kontakt mit uns auf!