Melody Extraction for Music Games

With the automated Melody Extraction of the Fraunhofer IDMT, you will receive innovative software that quickly and reliably detects the melody even under difficult acoustic conditions – no matter if it is a sung melody or a recorded audio track. This tool is as such ideal for karaoke games that necessitate the compilation of the music according to the respective notes.

Flash-based Games without a Server

Thanks to the Fraunhofer software you do not need any kind of server for Flash-based games using a microphone – the sung melody is recognized in Flash directly. Not only does it save costs, bandwidth and time, it also opens up for entirely new game concepts. Even traffic problems get a relict of the past. The melody recognition works without putting load on your server no matter how many players use the game at the same time.

Current Hits

The software requires only a one time processing of about 15 minutes for the compilation of songs for your games use. The recognition of the melody sung by the player during the game is conducted in real time with a minimal latency of only 6 ms.

Comprehensive Database

The minimal processing time per title and the automated detection makes it possible for you to compile an extensive database for melody tunes within an extremely short time.

Reliable Detection

The Fraunhofer technology is very robust against noise interference and the detection of the melodic pitch works even under difficult acoustic conditions. For the third time, the technology has been awarded the first prize by the MIREX international competition, in the category “Audio Melody Extraction”.

Cost and Resource Savings

Benefit from the Fraunhofer as an innovation leader, and save on cost and resource intensive in-house developments. The Fraunhofer Melody Extraction is shipped as a ready-to-use, out-of-the-box solution and also has very minimal impact on the processor load during operation.

Technology

The melody-detection is based on the automated transcription of music. The computer hereby attempts the opposite of making music. Instead of playing a music piece according to the score-sheet, the notes are detected from a music recording. Of course, such a transcription can also be carried out by experienced musicians and musicologists – but this takes time and requires high concentration. A "normal" music listener can rely on the help of the computer that is perhaps not as accurate as a musically trained ear, but much faster. The transcription of the main melody is particularly difficult. Often one first has to identify the most important voice among several voices. The so-called MRFFT-algorithm of the Fraunhofer IDMT is particularly suitable for this difficult task and has therefore for the third consecutive year been awarded the first place in the international MIREX competition in the category "Audio Melody Extraction".

For more information on the MRFFT-algorithm of the Fraunhofer IDMT, please see the white paper "Audio Melody Extraction for MIREX 2009".

Availability

The Melody Extraction for Music Games is available as C++ Library for Windows, Mac OS and Linux.

Test software

You would like to test the Melody Extraction? No problem. A free test version is available on demand.

Melodieerkennung für Musikspiele

Mit der automatischen Melodieerkennung des Fraunhofer IDMT erhalten Sie eine innovative Software, die auch unter schwierigen akustischen Bedingungen schnell und zuverlässig die Melodie eines beliebigen Musikstücks erkennt. Damit ist das Tool hervorragend für Karaokespiele geeignet in denen eine Aufbereitung von Musik in entsprechende Noten erfolgen muss.

Flashbasierte Spiele ohne Server

Dank der Fraunhofer-Software kommen flashbasierte Anwendungen und Spiele mit Einbindung des Mikrofons erstmals ganz ohne Server aus – der gesungene Ton wird direkt in Flash erkannt. Das spart Kosten, Bandbreite und Zeit und schafft Raum für völlig neue Spielkonzepte. Auch Traffic-Probleme gehören so der Vergangenheit an. Egal wie viele Nutzer gleichzeitig auf das Spiel zugreifen, die Melodieerkennung funktioniert ohne Performance Verluste.

Aktuelle Hits

Die Software benötigt nur einmalig circa 15 Minuten zum Aufbereiten eines Songs für Ihre Spieleanwendung. Die Melodie-Erkennung vom Gesang des Spielers funktioniert während des Spiels in Echtzeit mit einer minimalen Latenz von nur 6 ms.

Umfangreiche Datenbank

Die geringe Verarbeitungszeit pro Titel und die automatische Erkennung ermöglichen Ihnen den Aufbau einer umfangreichen Melodie-Datenbank innerhalb kürzester Zeit.

Zuverlässige Erkennung

Die Fraunhofer-Technologie ist sehr robust gegenüber Störgeräuschen und die Erkennung von Tonhöhen funktioniert auch unter schwierigen akustischen Bedingungen. Bereits zum dritten Mal in Folge wurde die Technologie mit dem ersten Platz im internationalen Wettbewerb MIREX in der Kategorie »Transkription der Hauptmelodie« ausgezeichnet.

Kosten- und Ressourcenersparnis

Profitieren Sie vom Innovationsführer Fraunhofer und sparen Sie sich kosten- und ressourcenintensive Eigenentwicklungen. Die Fraunhofer-Melodieerkennung wird als einsatzbereite Out-of-the-Box-Lösung geliefert und erzeugt auch im laufenden Betrieb nur wenig Prozessorlast.

Die Melodie-Erkennung beruht auf der automatischen Transkription von Musik. Dabei versucht der Computer das Gegenteil von Musizieren. Anstatt ein Musikstück nach Noten zu spielen, werden die Noten aus einer Musikaufnahme erkannt. Natürlich kann eine solche Transkription auch von erfahrenen Musikern und Musikwissenschaftlern durchgeführt werden – dies erfordert aber viel Zeit und eine hohe Konzentration. Ein »normaler« Musikhörer kann dafür die Hilfe des Computers in Anspruch nehmen. Der ist vielleicht nicht so exakt wie ein musikalisch geschultes Gehör, dafür aber viel schneller. Das Transkribieren der Hauptmelodie ist dabei besonders schwierig. Häufig muss zunächst aus mehreren Stimmen die wichtigste identifiziert werden. Der so sogenannte MRFFT-Algorithmus des Fraunhofer IDMT ist für diese schwierige Aufgabe besonders gut geeignet und wurde deshalb bereits zum dritten Mal in Folge mit dem ersten Platz im internationalen MIREX Wettbewerb in der Kategorie »Transkription der Hauptmelodie« ausgezeichnet.

Weitere Informationen zum MRFFT-Algorithmus des Fraunhofer IDMT finden Sie im Whitepaper »Audio Melody Extraction for MIREX 2009«.

Die Melodieerkennung für Musikspiele ist als C++ Library für Windows, Mac OS und Linux sowie als Flash Library erhältlich.

Testversion

Sie möchten die Software zur Melodieerkennung testen? Kein Problem. Wir stellen Ihnen auf Anfrage gern eine kostenlose Testversion zur Verfügung.

Geschäftsfeld Media Management and Delivery

Weitere Produkte und Dienstleistungen des Geschäftsfelds Media Management and Delivery