In miniature

At the Fraunhofer IDMT, arrays are developed with any number of microphones for a wide range of different applications

Mikrophone arrays

Microphone arrays are used to spatially localise acoustic events and optimise signal capture in one direction in a targeted way, e.g. towards a speaker. Two- or three-dimensional configurations are possible with arrays ranging from two to an arbitrary number of microphones. Arrays for a wide range of applications and designs are developed at the Fraunhofer IDMT – e.g. for ambient voice control systems, acoustic monitoring applications or signal capture in hands-free systems.

 

Multi-microphone signal processing

By using several microphones, it is possible to suppress sources of interference more effectively for signal capture. At the Fraunhofer IDMT, algorithms for automatic localisation, adaptive direction filtering (beamforming) and interference noise reduction are developed and adapted to specific applications. The scientists can choose from a wide range of single- or multi-channel algorithms for signal enhancement.

 

MEMS microphones – good transmission quality with minimum dimensions

The functional capability of a multi-channel noise reduction process depends crucially on the microphones used. In contrast to electret capsules, modern capacitive MEMS microphones offer significantly reduced production-related scatter in the transmission behaviour − with a self-noise rating in the same order of magnitude or below. In addition, digital MEMS microphones can be connected directly with signal processors. This reduces the technical complexity required for conversion.

Services

  • Prototype design of microphone arrays
  • Implementation of signal processing in embedded systems:
  • Automatic localisation
  • Optimum time-invariant direction filtering (beamforming)
  • Adaptive direction filtering (beamforming)
  • Single- and multi-channel processes for interference noise reduction
  • Integration of signal processing in existing systems
  • Application-specific adaptation and situation-based consulting for array hardware and software

En Miniature

Am Fraunhofer IDMT werden Arrays mit einer hohen Anzahl an Mikrofonen für unterschiedlichste Bauformen entwickelt.

Mikrofonarrays

Mit Mikrofonarrays werden akustische Ereignisse räumlich lokalisiert und die Signalaufnahme gezielt auf eine Richtung, z. B. auf einen Sprecher, optimiert. Möglich sind zwei- oder dreidimensionale Anordnungen von zwei bis beliebig vielen Mikrofonen. Am Fraunhofer IDMT werden Arrays für unterschiedlichste Bauformen entwickelt – beispielsweise für ambient verbaute Sprachsteuerungssysteme, Anwendungen im Bereich des akustischen Monitoring oder für die Signalaufnahme in Freisprechsystemen.

 

Multimikrofon-Signalverarbeitung

Durch die Nutzung mehrerer Mikrofone können Störquellen bei der Signalaufnahme besser unterdrückt werden. Am Fraunhofer IDMT werden Algorithmen zur automatischen Lokalisation, zur adaptiven Richtungsfilterung (Beamforming) und zur Störgeräuschreduktion entwickelt und anwendungsspezifisch angepasst. Zur Signalverbesserung können die Wissenschaftler auf ein breites Spektrum von ein- oder mehrkanalige Algorithmen zurückgreifen.

 

MEMS-Mikrofone − gute Übertragungsqualität bei minimaler Bauform

Die Funktionsfähigkeit von Verfahren zur mehrkanaligen Störgeräusch-reduktion hängt maßgeblich von der Wahl der Mikrofone ab. Moderne kapazitive MEMS-Mikrofone bieten im Gegensatz zu Elektret-Kapseln eine viel geringere produktionsbedingte Streuung im Übertragungsverhalten − bei einem Eigenrauschen in derselben Größenordnung oder darunter. Zusätzlich können digitale MEMS-Mikrofone direkt mit Signalprozessoren verbunden und so technischer Aufwand bei der Wandlung eingespart werden.

Leistungsangebot

  • Prototypischer Entwurf von Mikrofonarrays
  • Implementierung von Signalverarbeitung auf eingebetteten Systemen
    • automatische Lokalisation
    • optimale zeitinvariante Richtungsfilterung (Beamforming)
    • adaptive Richtungsfilterung (Beamforming)
    • ein- und mehrkanalige Verfahren zur Störgeräuschreduktion
  • Integration der Signalverarbeitung in bestehende Systeme
  • Anwendungsspezifische Anpassung und situationsbezogene Beratung zu Array-Hard- und Software