ATTENTION

Mobile System for ADHD Therapy by Transcranial Electrical Neurostimulation#

Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) also frequently occurs in adulthood. Patients are confronted with psychosocial restrictions that make everyday situations more difficult and require appropriate therapeutic approaches. ADHD treatment in adults usually consists of medications and / or psychotherapeutic approaches. A medicamentous treatment often shows a higher treatment success, but in many cases also has undesirable side effects. A close monitoring of the treatment is therefore indispensable. In addition, the costs of medication should not be underestimated.

The consortium of the BMBF project »ATTENTION« (= Mobile System for ADHD Therapy Using Transcranial Electrical Neurostimulation) is dedicated to the development of an alternative or complementary ADHD treatment approach that is effective and has few side effects for adult patients. The aim is to develop a novel medical technology system for simultaneous transcranial alternating current stimulation (tACS) and derivation of an electroencephalogram (EEG) for adult ADHD patients.  A tACS-based therapy in patients with ADHD promises a reduction in drug intake and the resulting costs. The aim is also to increase the effectiveness of psychotherapy.

The development envisages a mobile system in order to also implement a home application and thus be able to design the therapy plan more flexibly and individually. In summary, the neurobiological approach pursued in the »ATTENTION« project is intended to help in the future to enable effective, cost-effective, sustainable and low-side-effect therapy of ADHD in adulthood.

 

Procedure#

 

The demonstrator to be developed in »ATTENTION« will extract the individual parameters from the EEG, which will be used for neurostimulation with tACS. This will modify neurophysiological markers associated with attention functions. An improvement of the attention ability is also shown in shortened reaction times. A web-based dashboard offers the user, depending on the role in the system, the relevant data in the form of selected and easily interpretable diagrams and graphs and serves as an analysis tool for the collected data. The demonstrator will be tested in several studies, initially with healthy volunteers and later with ADHD patients.

Responsibilities of Fraunhofer IDMT#

Within the project, the Fraunhofer IDMT's Division Hearing, Speech and Audio Technology carries out scientific and technical research and development work within the development of algorithms for EEG analysis and data processing. It cooperates closely with Applied Biosignals GmbH and the University of Oldenburg. Fraunhofer IDMT is also involved in user studies with patients and medical experts.

Partners#

  • Fraunhofer IDMT, Institutsteil Hör-, Sprach- und Audiotechnologie HSA
  • neuroConn GmbH (Koordinator)
  • ASCORA GmbH
  • Applied Biosignals
  • Universität Oldenburg
  • Uniklinik Bonn

Duration#

  • Federal Ministry of Education and Research, Förderkennzeichen 13GW0273F

Laufzeit#

01/2019 - 01/2022

ATTENTION

Mobiles System zur ADHS Therapie mittels Transkranieller Elektrischer Neurostimulation

Eine Aufmerksamkeitsdefizit-/Hyperaktivitätsstörung (ADHS) tritt auch im Erwachsenenalter häufig auf. Betroffene werden mit psychosozialen Einschränkungen konfrontiert, die alltägliche Situationen erschweren und passende Therapieansätze erforderlich machen. Die ADHS-Behandlung bei Erwachsenen besteht in der Regel aus medikamentösen und / oder psychotherapeutischen Ansätzen. Eine medikamentöse Behandlung zeigt dabei oftmals einen höheren Behandlungserfolg, bringt jedoch auch in vielen Fällen unerwünschte Nebenwirkungen mit sich. Eine engmaschige Begleitung der Behandlung ist dadurch unabdingbar. Zusätzlich entstehen durch eine medikamentöse Behandlung nicht zu unterschätzende Kosten.

Der Entwicklung eines alternativen bzw. ergänzenden ADHS-Behandlungsansatzes, der effektiv und nebenwirkungsarm im Einsatz bei erwachsenen Patienten wirkt, widmet sich das Konsortium des BMBF-Projekts »ATTENTION« (= Mobiles System zur ADHS Therapie mittels Transkranieller Elektrischer Neurostimulation). Ziel ist die Entwicklung eines neuartigen medizintechnischen Systems zur gleichzeitigen transkraniellen Gehirnstimulation mit Wechselstrom (engl. transcranial Alternating Current Stimulation, tACS) und Ableitung eines Elektroenzephalogramms (EEG) bei erwachsenen ADHS-Patienten.  Eine tACS basierte Therapie bei Patienten mit ADHS verspricht die Reduktion der Medikamenteneinnahme sowie dadurch entstehende Kosten. Außerdem wird eine Verstärkung der Effektivität der Psychotherapie angestrebt.

Die Entwicklung sieht ein mobiles System vor, um auch eine Heimanwendung zu realisieren und damit den Therapieplan flexibler und individueller gestalten zu können. Zusammengefasst soll der in dem Projekt »ATTENTION« verfolgte neurobiologische Ansatz zukünftig helfen, eine effektive, kostengünstige, nachhaltige und nebenwirkungsarme Therapie bei ADHS im Erwachsenenalter zu ermöglichen.
 

Vorgehen
 

Der in »ATTENTION« zu entwickelnde Demonstrator soll die individuellen Parameter aus dem EEG extrahieren, welche für die Neurostimulation mit tACS genutzt werden. Dadurch werden neurophysiologische Marker, die mit Aufmerksamkeitsfunktionen in Verbindung gebracht werden, modifiziert. Eine Verbesserung des Aufmerksamkeitsvermögens zeigt sich außerdem in verkürzten Reaktionszeiten. Ein webbasiertes Dashboard bietet dem Nutzer, je nach Rolle im System, die entsprechend relevanten Daten in Form von ausgewählten und leicht interpretierbaren Diagrammen und Graphen an und dient als Analysewerkzeug für die erfassten Daten. Der Demonstrator wird in mehreren Studien zunächst bei gesunden Probanden und im späteren Verlauf auch bei ADHS-Patienten getestet werden.

Aufgabenbereich Fraunhofer IDMT

Der Institutsteil Hör-, Sprach- und Audiotechnologie des Fraunhofer IDMT leistet innerhalb des Projekts im Besonderen wissenschaftlich-technische Forschungs- und Entwicklungs-Arbeiten innerhalb der Algorithmenentwicklung für EEG Analysen und Datenverarbeitung. Dabei arbeitet es u.a. mit der Applied Biosignals GmbH und der Universität Oldenburg eng zusammen. Das Fraunhofer IDMT ist zudem in Nutzerstudien mit Patienten und medizinischen Experten involviert.

Beteiligte Partner

  • Fraunhofer IDMT, Institutsteil Hör-, Sprach- und Audiotechnologie HSA
  • neuroConn GmbH (Koordinator)
  • ASCORA GmbH
  • Applied Biosignals
  • Uni Oldenburg
  • Uniklinik Bonn

Förderer

  • Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung BMBF, Förderkennzeichen 13GW0273F

Laufzeit

01/2019 - 01/2022