KISH – AI-based selective hearing via headphones

Hear What's Important

"A cyclist who's in traffic with headphones. The car approaching him from the side. He doesn't see it - and he can't hear it either. When it collides, he has no chance." He could still be alive - with the help of an intelligent technology that makes an approaching car more audible to the user. Behind this vision is an intelligent headphone system that helps its users recognize concrete sound events, separate them from each other, and selectively amplify or suppress them.

The human ear is always on and sensitive in all directions. While you can close your eyes to avoid visual stimuli or focus on objects with your eyes, the possibilities with your ear are limited. It is often too loud in the environment, certain noises disturb or we consciously want to concentrate on specific acoustic information in the environment.

The project "KISH - KI-based selective hearing for headphones" aims to develop intelligent hearables that support the user in making certain sound events more audible in a complex acoustic environment, while allowing the targeted suppression of sound events perceived as disturbing. Innovative AI sound separation algorithms ensure that the sound sources in the user's acoustic environment can be recognized analyzed and processed separately. For the listener, this creates a sound experience tailored to individual needs by allowing defined acoustic objects to be amplified, attenuated or modified.

Based on the extensive previous experience gained in industrial and public projects, including detection and separation of sound sources as well as audio rendering and active noise control, Fraunhofer IDMT takes the leading role in the project and is responsible for developing recommendations for the further development of the ecosystem "selective hearing with AI support". Together with the project partners, we will validate the technical feasibility and economic relevance of this concept. The declared goal is to gain detailed knowledge about future, concrete marketing opportunities, to define the appropriate target market, to develop market entry scenarios and to acquire strategic partnerships.

Detect hazard noises - The acoustically transparent headphones detect hazard noises in the environment and thus warn the user.

Enable communication - The acoustically transparent headphones detect speech and enable communication.

Detect warning signals - The acoustically transparent headphones can react to warning signals and alert the user to dangerous situations.

Partners

Subcontracted Partners

Associated Partners

Advisory Board

Sponsors

Duration

April 2019 – October 2019 (competition phase)

KISH – KI-basiertes selektives Hören für Kopfhörer

Hören, was wichtig ist

»Ein Radfahrer, der im Straßenverkehr mit Kopfhörern unterwegs ist. Das Auto, das sich ihm seitlich nähert. Er sieht es nicht – und kann es auch nicht hören. Als es zum Zusammenprall kommt, hat er keine Chance.“ Er könnte noch am Leben sein – mit Hilfe einer intelligenten Technologie, die ein herannahendes Auto für den Nutzer besser hörbar macht. Hinter dieser Vision steckt ein intelligentes Kopfhörersystem, das seine Nutzer dabei unterstützt konkrete Klangereignisse zu erkennen, diese voneinander zu trennen und gezielt zu verstärken oder zu unterdrücken.

Im Rahmen des Projekts »KISH – KI-basiertes selektives Hören für Kopfhörer« sollen intelligente Hearables entwickelt werden, die den Träger dabei unterstützen, in einer komplexen akustischen Umgebung bestimmte Klangereignisse verstärkt hörbar zu machen, während als störend empfundene Klangereignisse gezielt ausgeblendet werden können. Innovative KI-Klang-Separationsalgorithmen sorgen dafür, dass die Klangquellen in der akustischen Umgebung des Nutzers erkannt, analysiert und voneinander getrennt verarbeitet werden können. Für den Hörenden wird damit ein an die individuellen Bedürfnisse angepasstes Klangerlebnis geschaffen, indem definierte akustische Objekte verstärkt, gemindert oder modifiziert werden können.

Aufbauend aus den umfangreichen Vorerfahrungen aus industriellen und öffentlichen Projekten, u. a. zu Erkennung und Trennung von Klangquellen sowie Audio-Rendering und Active Noise Control, übernimmt das Fraunhofer IDMT im Projekt die führende Rolle und ist für die Ausarbeitung der Empfehlungen zur Weiterentwicklung des Ökosystems »selektives Hören mit KI-Unterstützung« verantwortlich. Gemeinsam mit den Projektpartnern wird innerhalb des Vorhabens die technische Realisierbarkeit sowie die wirtschaftliche Relevanz dieses Konzepts validiert. Erklärtes Ziel ist es, detaillierte Kenntnisse über zukünftige, konkrete Vermarktungsmöglichkeiten zu erlangen, den passenden Zielmarkt zu definieren, Markteintrittsszenarien zu entwickeln sowie strategische Partnerschaften zu akquirieren.

Gefahrengeräusche erkennen – Der akustisch transparente Kopfhörer erkennt Gefahrengeräusche in der Umgebung und warnt so den Nutzer.

Kommunikation ermöglichen – Der akustisch transparente Kopfhörer detektiert Sprache und ermöglicht somit Kommunikation.

Warnsignale detektieren – Der akustisch transparente Kopfhörer kann auf Warnsignale reagieren und den Nutzer auf Gefahrensituationen hinweisen.

Das Konsortium

Förderer

Laufzeit

April 2019 – Oktober 2019 (Wettbewerbsphase)