DeViSe

Automatic Detection, Localization and Tracking of Birds and Animal Sounds by means of an Intelligent Acoustic Sensor System

© Fraunhofer IDMT / Hannes Kalter
»Sounds of the forest« – The mobile acoustic sensor system of the Fraunhofer IDMT in Oldenburg automatically records animal sounds in the surrounding area.
© Fraunhofer IDMT / Hannes Kalter / OpenStreet Map
Mobile recording and analysis in real time of data and presentation in the form of graphs for biosphere monitoring.

Before a wind power plant is built or nature conservation measures implemented, planners gather information about the flora and fauna at the respective location. While it is quite easy to document trees and grasses, this is more difficult in the case of frogs, birds, etc. In the »DeViSe« project funded by the German Federal Environmental Foundation (DBU - Deutsche Bundesstiftung Umwelt), an acoustic sensor system is now being developed that automatically records and analyses animal sounds. The goal is to apply a species-specific approach to help protect endangered animals.

Technical possibilities to date in this area are limited or costly, or else the analysis stage is very complex and error-prone. To remedy this, the Fraunhofer IDMT in Oldenburg, in cooperation with the project partners, is developing an intelligent sensor system. A small, robust recording device with suitable software will be used to automatically record and count animal calls and assign them accurately to the respective species. For selected target species, the system will not only record their occurrence in a given area but also their exact location. This is facilitated among others by simultaneous recording with several microphones, known as sensor nodes, within sensor networks.

In the »DeViSe« project, the initial focus lies on specific animal species, such as the bird species »corncrake« (Crex crex) and the »Eurasian woodcock« (Scolopax rusticola) but also on grasshoppers in another part of the test phase. In principle, however, the technology can be used for all animal sounds.

Expert reports by environmental scientists, biologists, landscape ecologists and companies are seen as a potential application scenario for the innovative sensor system. The high-quality yet inexpensive acoustic sensor system will take into account, for example, birds’ flight paths when planning wind power plants or existing nesting places during haymaking.    

Objectives

Development of an intelligent acoustic sensor system for the automatic detection, localization and tracking of animal sounds. The methodology will be developed to the level where it can be used directly by experts in practice, at least within the following selected test scenarios:

  • Recording of stationary animal calls in the context of land use and management of protection areas
  • Recording of birds in flight in the context of the expansion of renewable power generation
  • Small-scale acoustic recordings in the context of land use and planning projects

Tasks of the IDMT-HSA

  • Technological development and customization of suitable sensor nodes and sensor networks, including consideration of energy autonomy, microphoning, robustness
  • Development of test concepts as well as upgrading of the sensor units with wireless communication interfaces and locating functions
  • Development of software modules for the pre-processing of acoustic signals
  • Together with Berlin Natural History Museum (Museum für Naturkunde Berlin):
    Development of the recognizer model and integration on the platform
  • Research and development work on web-based recording and monitoring of data in real time for the visualization and analysis of spatial and temporal interdependencies
     

Partners

  • Museum für Naturkunde Berlin - Leibniz Institute for Evolution and Biodiversity Science (Coordinator)
  • ARSU GmbH - Arbeitsgruppe für regionale Struktur- und Umweltforschung GmbH, Oldenburg

Sponsors

  • Funded by the German Federal Environmental Foundation (DBU - Deutsche Bundesstiftung Umwelt) (DBU)

Duration

2020-02-01 - 2023-01-31

DeViSe

Automatische Detektion, Lokalisation und Tracking von Vögeln und lautgebenden Tierarten mittels intelligenter akustischer Sensorik

© Fraunhofer IDMT / Hannes Kalter
»Wie es in den Wald schallt« - Das mobile akustische Sensorsystem des Fraunhofer IDMT in Oldenburg erfasst automatisch Tierlaute in der Umwelt.
© Fraunhofer IDMT / Hannes Kalter / OpenStreet Map
Die erfassten Daten werden mobil und in Echtzeit ausgewertet und grafisch für das Biosphären-Monitoring aufbereitet.

Bevor eine Windkraftanlage errichtet oder eine Naturschutzmaßnahme umgesetzt wird, informieren sich Planer über die Tier- und Pflanzenwelt vor Ort. Während man Gräser und Bäume noch recht einfach verzeichnen kann, ist das bei Fröschen, Vögeln und Co. schon schwieriger. In dem von der Deutschen Bundesstiftung Umwelt (DBU) geförderten Projekt »DeViSe« entsteht nun ein akustisches Sensorsystem, das die Laute von Tieren automatisch erfasst und auswertet. Es soll dabei helfen, bedrohte Tiere artenspezifisch zu schützen.  

Bisherige technische Möglichkeiten in diesem Bereich sind nur begrenzt vorhanden, kostenintensiv oder in der Auswertung sehr aufwändig und fehleranfällig. Um hier Abhilfe zu schaffen, entwickelt das Fraunhofer IDMT aus Oldenburg mit den Projektpartnern ein intelligentes Sensorsystem. In Form eines robusten, kleinen Aufnahmegeräts mit geeigneter Software sollen Tierrufe automatisch erfasst, gezählt und Tierarten zuverlässig zugeordnet werden. Für ausgewählte Zielarten soll nicht nur erfasst werden, ob sie in einem Gebiet vorkommen, sondern auch wo. Dies wird u.a. durch die gleichzeitige Aufnahme mit mehreren Mikrofonen, sogenannter Sensorknoten, innerhalb von Sensornetzwerken ermöglicht.

Im Projekt »DeViSe« stehen zunächst spezielle Tierarten im Fokus, wie die Vogelarten »Wachtelkönig« (Crex crex) und »Waldschnepfe« (Scolopax rusticola), aber auch Heuschrecken in einem weiteren Teil der Testphase. Grundsätzlich kann die Technik aber für alle lautgebenden Tiere verwenden werden.

Ein potentielles Einsatzszenario der neuartigen Sensorik wird im Rahmen der Gutachtenerstellung durch Umweltwissenschaftler, Biologen, Landschaftsökologen und Unternehmen gesehen. Durch das hochwertige und dennoch günstige akustische Sensorsystem sollen z.B. Flugrouten von Vögeln bei der Planung von Windenergieanlagen oder bestehende Nistplätze bei der Heuernte berücksichtigt werden.  

Ziele des Projekts

Entwicklung eines intelligenten akustischen Sensorsystems zur automatischen Detektion, Lokalisation und dem Tracking von lautgebenden Tierarten. Die Methodik soll so weit entwickelt werden, dass sie unmittelbar in der gutachterlichen Praxis, mindestens innerhalb der folgenden gewählten Testszenarien, genutzt werden kann:

  • Erfassung stationärer Rufer im Kontext von Landnutzung und Schutzgebietsmanagement
  • Erfassung von Rufen fliegender Vögel im Kontext des Ausbaus regenerativer Energieerzeugung
  • Kleinräumige akustische Erfassung im Kontext von Landnutzung und Planungsvorhaben

Aufgabenbereiche des IDMT-HSA

  • Technologische Entwicklung und Anpassung geeigneter Sensorknoten und Sensornetzwerke inkl. Berücksichtigung von Energieautonomität, Mikrofonierung, Robustheit
  • Entwicklung von Prüfkonzepten, sowie die Erweiterung der Sensoreinheiten um drahtlose Kommunikationsschnittstellen und Ortungsfunktionen
  • Entwicklung von Softwaremodulen zur Signalvorverarbeitung akustischer Signale
  • Gemeinsam mit dem Museum für Naturkunde Berlin:
    Generierung des Erkennermodells und Integration auf der Plattform
  • Forschung und Entwicklung zur webbasierten Erfassung und dem Monitoring von Daten in Echtzeit zur Visualisierung und der Auswertung räumlicher und zeitlicher Zusammenhänge
     

Partner

  • Museum für Naturkunde Berlin - Leibniz-Institut für Evolutions- und Biodiversitätsforschung (Koordinator)
  • ARSU GmbH - Arbeitsgruppe für regionale Struktur- und Umweltforschung GmbH, Oldenburg

Förderer

  • Gefördert durch die Deutsche Bundesstiftung Umwelt (DBU)

Laufzeit

01.02.2020 - 31.01.2023