SensOhr®-Platform

The research platform for the ear-based detection of biosignals

The SensOhr®-platform of the Oldenburg Branch for Hearing, Speech and Audio Technology HSA is used for sensor-based recording of biosignals close to the human ear. With the SensOhr®-platform, a variety of research approaches and practical integration examples for the application of sensor technology close to the ear have been realised. SensOhr®-elements are used in research and development projects and studies of the Fraunhofer IDMT. The main areas of application are in scenarios that require monitoring - whether in health applications or communication.

Sounds such as snoring, heartbeat, swallowing or speech can be combined with the recording of (other) vital data such as EEG, movement or oxygen saturation. For example, SensOhr® can form the basis for recording different biosignals. The body-related sensor technology supports research into different clinical pictures such as epilepsy or sleep disorders. 

Technological prerequisites

The combination of different Fraunhofer technologies within SensOhr® creates a variety of development approaches for ear- and head-related applications, processes and hardware solutions. The platform consists of the basic hardware based on quad-core ARM modules with WiFi and Bluetooth as well as USB as a wired interface. This basic module can be expanded with further sensor modules. For airborne sound, a 16-channel microphone array with powerful DSP is available. Furthermore, structure-borne sound and motion sensors can be added and pulse and oxygen saturation can be recorded via an optical sensor. An 8-channel EEG amplifier is available for EEG/EMG applications and an optical time-off-flight sensor for respiratory movements. Due to the modular concept, individual systems can be assembled according to project requirements or customised sensors can be added. Sufficient computing resources are available on DSP and ARM processors to use various algorithms developed by the Fraunhofer IDMT or your own algorithms. Real-time data transmission is possible via USB or WiFi (LSL - LabStreamLayer). The sensor technology can be integrated into in-ear headphones (hearables) or attached behind the ear with adhesive electrodes. A battery option enables wireless data acquisition for several hours.

Further Information

 

SleepWell

Did you sleep well last night? This question concerns everyone, because sleep disorders affect health in the long term. That's why we are working on a multi-sensor system close to the ear that records sleep behavior comfortably at home.

 

i4.0 flatters the ear

How about being able to combine the protection of your hearing from loud ambient noise with the crystal clear communication with humans and machines in one device directly in your ears? We develop the hearable for the smart industrial workplace!

 

Connected Health

In the area of Connected Health we develop mobile sensor-based health systems.

 

Mobile Neurotechnologies

The group »Mobile Neurotechnologies« is working on discreet EEG systems for the analysis of brain activity - e.g. for safe workplace design or for use in health applications.

SensOhr®-Plattform

Die Forschungsplattform für die ohrnahe Erfassung von Biosignalen

Die SensOhr®-Plattform des Institutsteils Hör-, Sprach- und Audiotechnologie HSA in Oldenburg dient der sensorgestützten Aufnahme von Biosignalen nahe am menschlichen Ohr. Mit der SensOhr®-Plattform wurden eine Vielzahl an Forschungsansätzen und praktischen Integrationsbeispielen für die Anwendung ohrnaher Sensorik realisiert. SensOhr®-Elemente kommen sowohl in Forschungs- und Entwicklungsvorhaben des Fraunhofer IDMT zum Einsatz als auch in Probandenstudien. Haupteinsatzbereiche liegen in Szenarien, die ein Monitoring erfordern – sei es in Gesundheitsanwendungen oder der Kommunikation.

Geräusche wie Schnarchen, Herzschlag, Schlucken oder Sprache können mit der Aufnahme von (anderen) Vitaldaten wie EEG oder Sauerstoffsättigung kombiniert werden. So kann SensOhr® beispielsweise die Grundlage für die Erfassung unterschiedlicher Biosignale bilden. Die körpernahe Sensorik unterstützt die Erforschung unterschiedlicher Krankheitsbilder wie Epilepsie oder Schlafstörungen. 

Technologische Voraussetzungen

Durch die Kombination verschiedener Fraunhofer-Technologien innerhalb von SensOhr® entstehen vielfältige Entwicklungsansätze für ohr- und kopfnahe Anwendungen, Prozesse und Hardwarelösungen. Die Plattform besteht aus der grundlegenden Hardware auf Basis von Quadcore-ARM-Modulen mit WiFi und Bluetooth sowie USB als kabelgebundene Schnittstelle. Dieses Basismodul kann um weitere Sensormodule erweitert werden. Für Luftschall steht ein 16-Kanal Mikrofonarray mit leistungsfähigem DSP zur Verfügung. Weiterhin können Körperschall- und Bewegungssensoren ergänzt sowie Puls und Sauerstoffsättigung über einen optischen Sensor erfasst werden. Für EEG/EMG-Anwendungen steht ein 8-Kanal EEG-Verstärker zur Verfügung, für Atembewegungen ein optischer Time-Off-Flight-Sensor. Durch das modulare Konzept können individuelle Systeme nach Projektanforderungen zusammengestellt oder kundenspezifische Sensoren ergänzt werden. Auf DSP- und ARM-Prozessoren stehen ausreichende Rechenresourcen zur Verfügung, um unterschiedliche Algorithmen des Fraunhofer IDMT in Oldenburg zum Einsatz zu bringen. Eine Datenübertragung in Echtzeit ist über USB oder WiFi (LSL – LabStreamLayer) möglich. Die Sensorik kann dabei beispielsweise in In-Ear-Kopfhörern (Hearables) integriert oder auch mit Klebeelektroden hinter dem Ohr angebracht werden. Durch eine Batterieoption ist eine kabellose Datenerfassung für mehrere Stunden möglich.

Weitere Informationen

 

SleepWell

Haben Sie heute gut geschlafen? Diese Frage betrifft jeden, denn Schlafstörungen beeinträchtigen langfristig die Gesundheit. Deshalb arbeiten wir an einem ohrnahen Multisensorsystem, um Schlafverhalten bequem zuhause aufzeichnen zu können.

 

Connected Health

Im Projekt Connected Health werden mobile sensorgestützte Gesundheitssysteme entwickelt.

 

KI im Ohr

Wie wäre es, wenn ein intelligenter Knopf im Ohr sowohl das Gehör vor lauten Umgebungsgeräuschen schützen als auch eine kristallklare Kommunikation mit Menschen und Maschinen ermöglichen könnte? Wir entwickeln das Hearable für den smarten Industriearbeitsplatz!

 

Mobile Neurotechnologien

Die Interpretation von Signalen des menschlichen Gehirns ist eine Herausforderung. Die Gruppe »Mobile Neurotechnologien« des Fraunhofer IDMT in Oldenburg nimmt sich dieser an, um Systeme zur Elektroenzephalografie (EEG) in konkreten Anwendungsszenarien verfügbar zu machen – beispielsweise in Gesundheitsanwendungen oder am sicherheitskritischen Arbeitsplatz.