Connected Health

The work area of Connected Health at Fraunhofer IDMT in Oldenburg develops mobile sensor-based health systems. Their distinctive feature: They can be used flexibly and without a clinical infrastructure in

  • prevention,
  • diagnostics,
  • the therapy of diseases
  • and for the preservation of health.

The technical focus is on the development and validation of intelligent evaluation algorithms. In addition, research is conducted in the Connected Health field on models in interaction with sensors that are close to the body and, in particular, close to the head.

Application scenarios

Current application scenarios include pronunciation analysis and speech training for rehabilitation and therapy support in speech therapy. The recording and classification of body-related sounds, such as breathing, or the analysis of movement data, for example in the context of neurological diseases, also fall within the research and development activities.

Connecting health systematically and practically

Connected Health at Fraunhofer IDMT in Oldenburg systematically addresses technological solutions that enable mobile or remote health services. An important goal here is to provide health-conscious users and patients more flexible options for their self-management and for contacting medical professionals. Where possible, this involves readily available consumer technologies and wearables such as smartwatches, hearables, smartphones, as well as existing infrastructures such as cellular networks. This enables healthcare to be provided outside the hospital or a medical office. This approach includes new developments in telemedicine, home care, and lifestyle products.

 

Listening and pronunciation training for the hearing impaired

The developments in the project THERESIAH are intended to complement existing forms of therapy.

 

Intelligent speech training with ISi-Speech

In the ISi-Speech project, a training system is being developed that allows affected persons to independently train their speech capability. 

 

»MOND« for better epilepsy diagnostics

An everyday mobile neurosensing system shall automatically detect epileptic seizures and document them for medical history.

 

Assistive Speech and Language Analysis

The development and utilisation of digital speech processing technologies can make an important contribution to individual capacity for verbal communication.

 

Mobile Neurotechnologies

The group »Mobile Neurotechnologies« is working on discreet EEG systems for the analysis of brain activity - e.g. for safe workplace design or for use in health applications.

 

Oldenburg Branch for Hearing, Speech and Audio Technology HSA

The objective of the Oldenburg Branch for Hearing, Speech and Audio Technology HSA of the Fraunhofer Institute for Digital Media Technology IDMT is to transfer scientific findings related to hearing perception and man-machine interaction into technological applications.

Connected Health

Das Arbeitsgebiet Connected Health am Fraunhofer IDMT in Oldenburg entwickelt mobile sensorgestützte Gesundheitssysteme. Ihre Besonderheit: Sie können flexibel und ohne klinische Infrastruktur in der

  • Prävention, 
  • der Diagnostik, 
  • der Therapie von Krankheiten 
  • und zum Erhalt der Gesundheit 

eingesetzt werden. Technische Schwerpunkte sind die Entwicklung und Validierung von intelligenten Auswertealgorithmen. Außerdem wird im Forschungsfeld Connected Health an Modellen im Zusammenspiel mit körpernaher und insbesondere kopfnaher Sensorik gearbeitet.

Anwendungsszenarien

Aktuelle Anwendungsszenarien sind beispielsweise die Ausspracheanalyse und das Sprechtraining für die Rehabilitation und Therapiebegleitung in der Logopädie. Die Erfassung und Klassifikation körperbezogener Geräusche, wie die Atmung oder die Analyse von Bewegungsdaten, beispielsweise im Kontext von neurologischen Erkrankungen, fallen ebenfalls in die Forschungs- und Entwicklungsaktivitäten des Arbeitsgebiets.

 

Systematisch und praxisnah Gesundheit verknüpfen

Connected Health befasst sich systematisch mit technologischen Lösungen, die Gesundheitsleistungen auch unterwegs oder aus der Ferne zu ermöglichen. Ein wichtiges Ziel dabei ist, gesundheitsbewussten Anwendern und Patienten flexiblere Möglichkeiten zu bieten, mit Medizinern in Kontakt zu treten und ihre Versorgung autonomer zu organisieren. Dabei werden nach Möglichkeit leicht verfügbare Verbrauchertechnologien und Wearables wie Smartwatches, Hearables, Smartphones sowie bestehende Infrastrukturen wie das Mobilfunknetz genutzt. So soll die Patientenversorgung auch außerhalb des Krankenhauses oder der Arztpraxis gewährleistet werden können. Dieser Ansatz umfasst neue Entwicklungen in der Telemedizin, bei der häuslichen Pflege sowie im Bereich von Lifestyleprodukten.

Gesundheitsnahe Forschung am Fraunhofer IDMT-HSA

 

Hör- und Aussprachetraining für Hörgeschädigte

Die Entwicklungen im Projekt THERESIAH sollen bestehende Therapieformen ergänzen.

 

Intelligentes Sprachtraining mit ISi-Speech

Im Projekt ISi-Speech wird ein Trainingssystem entwickelt, mit dem Menschen ihre eingeschränkte Sprechfähigkeit selbstständig trainieren können.

 

»MOND« für bessere Epilepsie-Diagnostik

Ein alltagstaugliches, mobiles Neurosensorsystem soll automatisch epileptische Anfälle erkennen und für die ärztliche Anamnese dokumentieren.

 

Assistive Sprech- und Sprachanalyse

Die Entwicklung und Verwertung von digitalen Sprachverarbeitungstechnologien kann einen wichtigen Beitrag zur individuellen Befähigung verbaler Kommunikation leisten.

 

Mobile Neurotechnologien

Die Gruppe »Mobile Neurotechnologien« arbeitet an diskreten EEG-Systemen zur Analyse von Hirnaktivitäten - u.a. zur sicheren Arbeitsplatzgestaltung oder für den Einsatz in Gesundheitsanwendungen.

 

Hör-, Sprach- und Audiotechnologie HSA

Ziel des Oldenburger Institutsteils Hör-, Sprach- und Audiotechnologie HSA des Fraunhofer IDMT ist es, wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse über die Hörwahrnehmung und Mensch-Technik-Interaktionen in technologischen Anwendungen umzusetzen.