SpeechTrust+ – Detection of AI-based speech synthesis and voice alienation for evidence verification and protection against fraud and disinformation

Recording studio with microphone
© Will Francis/Unsplash

AI-based speech synthesis will soon be able to generate speech of such good quality that it will be indistinguishable from natural speech - a form of so-called “deepfakes”. In the near future, it will be possible to put arbitrary messages into the mouth of any person. Without effective speech synthesis detection methods being available, there will be serious problems regarding the prevention and prosecution of fraud, phishing and disinformation.

SpeechTrust+ aims to explore a new generation of detectors that will reliably and sustainably detect AI-based speech synthesis and voice distortion. To achieve this, we will not only apply the same AI methods that have led to the tremendous improvements in speech synthesis, but also use methods from the field of audio forensics. This combination is meant to create a toolbox for the robust detection of both  speech synthesis and voice distortion.

Responsibilities of Fraunhofer IDMT

Fraunhofer IDMT leads the project and carries out all work related to the research and development of novel AI-based technologies for the detection of synthetic speech and voice distortion. Several Fraunhofer IDMT teams in Ilmenau and Oldenburg contribute to the project with their interdisciplinary know-how in the fields of machine learning, audio forensics, anomaly detection, room acoustics, speaker recognition, and speech analysis. To achieve this, findings and methods from the REWIND and AudioTrust+ projects will be used, among others. 

Partners

  • Fraunhofer Institute for Digital Media Technology IDMT
  • DigiFors GmbH
  • State Criminal Police Office of Baden-Württemberg 
  • State Criminal Police Office of Bavaria

DigiFors GmbH, a highly specialized company for forensics analysis and consulting in juridical trials, contributes to the project with its expertise in digital forensics and IT security, especially with regard to the needs from the perspective of the forensic processing of analysis results and the evaluation of the project results.

The State Criminal Police Offices of Baden-Württemberg and Bavaria are involved as associated project partners for requirements analysis and evaluation of the developed software. Their involvement in both processes ensures the practical usability of the detectors, especially regarding the prevention and detection of crimes.

Duration

January 2022 – December 2024

Funding

The project is funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research as part of the "Research for Civil Security" programme.

SpeechTrust+ – Erkennung von KI-basierter Sprachsynthese und Stimmverfremdung für Beweismittelprüfung und Schutz vor Betrug und Desinformation

Aufnahmestudio mit Mikrofon und Kopfhörern
© Will Francis/Unsplash

KI-basierte Sprachsynthese ist schon bald in der Lage, menschliche Sprache in so guter Qualität zu generieren, dass sie nicht mehr von natürlicher Sprache zu unterscheiden ist – eine Form sogenannter »Deepfakes«. In naher Zukunft wird es möglich sein, beliebigen Personen beliebige Botschaften in den Mund zu legen. Ohne wirksamen Verfahren zur Erkennung synthetischer Sprache drohen dramatische Folgen für die Prävention und Verfolgung von Betrug, Phishing und Desinformation.

Ziel von SpeechTrust+ ist es, eine neue Generation von Detektoren zu erforschen, die KI-basierte Sprachsynthese und Sprachverfremdungen zuverlässig und nachhaltig erkennen sollen. Dafür werden nicht nur genau die KI-Methoden zur Detektion eingesetzt, die zu den enormen Verbesserungen bei der Sprachsynthese geführt haben, sondern zusätzlich Verfahren aus der Audioforensik verwendet. Durch diese Kombination soll eine Toolbox entstehen, mit der robuste Detektoren bereitgestellt werden können.

Aufgabenbereich des Fraunhofer IDMT

Das Fraunhofer IDMT leitet das Projekt und führt alle Arbeiten zur Erforschung und Entwicklung neuartiger KI-basierter Technologien zur Detektion synthetischer Sprachaufzeichnungen und Stimmverfremdungen im Projekt aus. Mehrere Teams der Standorte Ilmenau und Oldenburg bringen dafür in enger Zusammenarbeit interdisziplinäres Know-how in Maschinellem Lernen, Audioforensik, Anomaliedetektion, Raumakustik, Sprechererkennung und Sprachanalyse ein. Eingesetzt werden dabei unter anderem Erkenntnisse und Verfahren aus den Projekten REWIND und AudioTrust.

Beteiligte Partner

  • Fraunhofer-Institut für Digitale Medientechnologie IDMT
  • DigiFors GmbH
  • Landeskriminalamt Baden-Würtemberg
  • Landeskriminalamt Bayern

Die DigiFors GmbH bringt als hoch spezialisiertes Sachverständigen-Unternehmen seine Expertise in Digitaler Forensik und IT-Sicherheit ins Projekt mit ein, vor allem bezüglich der Bedarfe aus Sicht der forensischen Aufbereitung von Analyseergebnissen und der Evaluation der Projektergebnisse.

Die Landeskriminalämter Baden-Württemberg und Bayern sind als assoziierte Projektpartner für die iterative Anforderungsanalyse und Bewertung der entwickelten Software eingebunden, um so einen hohen Praxisnutzen der Ergebnisse vor allem für die Prävention und Erkennung von Straftaten sicherzustellen. 

Förderer

Das Projekt wird im Rahmen des BMBF-Ausschreibung »Künstliche Intelligenz in der zivilen Sicherheitsforschung II« gefördert (FKZ 13N16267, Laufzeit 01/2022-12/2024).

Laufzeit

Januar 2022 – Dezember 2024