#20 Years of Fraunhofer IDMT

Our Fraunhofer IDMT is celebrating its 20th anniversary this year. And that needs to be celebrated. For a whole year, we will be publishing articles on this anniversary page - reviews, outlooks, video messages and reports on our various events in the anniversary year. The page will therefore be filled with colorful contributions throughout the year.

We look forward to an exciting anniversary year 2024!

Our events in the anniversary year

 

Event / 17.4.2024

Our tree planting campaign in the anniversary year

 

Event / 22.5.2024

Anniversary celebration

Together with our guests, we look back on 20 years of Fraunhofer IDMT. We also present current research topics to experience and a colorful supporting program for our guests.

 

 

Event / 10.10.2024

Anniversary edition of our Talent School!

A double birthday! Our Fraunhofer Talent School Ilmenau turns 15!

 

Event / 5.11.2024

Workshop Digital Broadcasting and Media

At the end of the anniversary year, we invite you to the broadcast industry event in Erfurt.

Our posts in the anniversary year

 

We simulate virtual acoustic noise environments. This allows virtual prototypes to be acoustically tested in later application environments - even before they have been built.

 

Using AI, we develop technologies to detect synthesized and manipulated audio and video data. This helps us to verify the authenticity and origin of media content.

 

We develop technologies and concepts for privacy and security, e.g. to protect sensitive company or health data and at the same time make the best possible use of it for analyses.

 

We create and improve desired sounds and reduce disturbing noises - for a new listening experience.

 

We develop AI-based technologies for the automatic extraction of metadata for broadcast monitoring, music production, and program analysis.

 

We develop AI-based solutions to analyze urban and natural sounds - for applications ranging from noise monitoring to environmental protection.

 

To analyze industrial sounds, we mimic human hearing using acoustic measurement technology and AI.

 

We develop efficient and adaptive sensor concepts for a wide range of applications and requirements.

 

Research in focus. Find out more about our innovative research topics at the Ilmenau site in the coming weeks.

 

Video / 10.1.2024

Join us on a short journey through time and experience in our video how our institute building was built back then.

 

We are celebrating 20 years of IDMT! It's amazing how quickly time has passed! Our Fraunhofer IDMT has been around since January 1, 2004.

Here you will get an overview of selected events of the last 20 years of Fraunhofer IDMT history.

2000

May 19, 2000

Eröffnungsfeier der Fraunhofer-Arbeitsgruppe AEMT im Jahr 2000.
Opening ceremony of the Fraunhofer AEMT working group in 2000.

Foundation of the Fraunhofer Working Group for Electronic Media Technology AEMT. The working group is part of the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS in Erlangen. mp3 developer Professor Karlheinz Brandenburg takes over as head of the new working group and, at the same time, of the Department of Electronic Media Technology at Ilmenau Technical University.

October 20, 2000

From left: Dipl.-Ing. Harald Popp, Professor Karlheinz Brandenburg, Federal President Johannes Rau, Professor Bernhard Grill

The German Future Prize 2000 for the development of the mp3 audio coding process goes to the head of the Fraunhofer AEMT working group in Ilmenau, Professor Karlheinz Brandenburg, and his research colleagues from Fraunhofer IIS, Professor Bernhard Grill, and Harald Popp.

2004

January 1, 2004

The director of the Fraunhofer IDMT, Professor Karlheinz Brandenburg, at the opening ceremony on April 27, 2004 in the Ilmenau Festhalle.

After a successful evaluation, the Fraunhofer working group became an independent Fraunhofer Institute for Digital Media Technology IDMT at the beginning of 2004. This was celebrated on April 27th, 2004 at an opening ceremony with numerous representatives from science, industry, and politics.

February 10, 2004

The winners of the research prize: Prof. Thomas Sporer, Diemer de Vries, Dr. Sandra Brix and Prof. Karlheinz Brandenburg.
The winners of the Thuringian Research Prize for Applied Research 2003 (from left): Professor Thomas Sporer, the Dutch laudator Professor Diemer de Vries, Dr.-Ing. Sandra Brix and Professor Karlheinz Brandenburg.

The Fraunhofer IDMT receives the Thuringian Research Prize 2003 for the development of Wave Field Synthesis technology. This technology forms the scientific basis of our 3D sound technology SpatialSound Wave.

More information about SpatialSound Wave 3D sound technology

Oktober 20, 2004

© Fraunhofer
From left: Eric Allamanche, Jürgen Herre and Markus Cremer receive the 2004 Joseph von Fraunhofer Prize for AudioID.

The Joseph von Fraunhofer Research Award for the music recognition technology AudioID goes to Marcus Cremer from Fraunhofer IDMT and his research colleagues from Fraunhofer IIS, Eric Allamanche and Jürgen Herre. Even today, we at Fraunhofer IDMT are still working on issues relating to intelligent music analysis.

More information on the research topic of automatic music analysis

2006

March 30, 2006

© Event Elevator
Since 2006, Fraunhofer IDMT's 3D sound technology has been providing impressive listening experiences on the world's largest lake stage in Bregenz.

The German "Opus" award for the innovative "Bregenz Open Acoustics (BOA)" sound system goes to the Bregenz Festival in the category "Sound Design". The Fraunhofer IDMT played a decisive role in the development of BOA.

September 2006

The construction of our new Ilmenau institute building on the TU Ilmenau campus begins. Here you can see the construction of the building in a short time-lapse video.

December 18, 2006

With this award, the state of Thuringia recognizes the outstanding scientific achievements of Professor Brandenburg.

Institute Director Professor Karlheinz Brandenburg receives the Cross of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany. The high decoration of the Federal Republic of Germany is presented by the Thuringian Minister for Federal and European Affairs, Gerold Wucherpfenning.

2008

August 1, 2008

From left: The head of the Oldenburg branch of the institute, Professor Birger Kollmeier, the Lower Saxony Minister for Science and Culture, Lutz Stratmann, the acting president of the University of Oldenburg, Heide Ahrens, and the director of the Fraunhofer IDMT, Professor Karlheinz Brandenburg.

The Fraunhofer IDMT Project Group Hearing, Speech and Audio Technology HSA is founded at the Oldenburg site under the leadership of Professor Birger Kollmeier and Jens-E. Appell. Today, the employees at the Oldenburg branch of the institute work on the topics of speech and event recognition, sound quality and speech intelligibility as well as mobile neurotechnology and systems for networked healthcare.

More information about the Oldenburg branch Hearing, Speech and Audio Technology HSA

November 11, 2008

Ceremonial handover of the keys by the architect to the institute's director, Professor Karlheinz Brandenburg.

The new institute building in Ilmenau is officially opened with a symbolic key handover.

2009

October 23, 2009

The first Talent School of the Fraunhofer IDMT takes place. And that's why we are celebrating a double birthday this year: 15 years of Fraunhofer Talent School Ilmenau and 20 years of Fraunhofer IDMT!

2010

September 14, 2010

Federal President Wulff and other guests are welcomed to the IDMT by a robot.
Federal President Christian Wullf (center) and his accompanying guests are charmingly welcomed to the institute building by a service robot in 2010.

Federal President Christian Wulff visits the Fraunhofer IDMT in Ilmenau together with the diplomatic corps.

September 28, 2010

Group photo of the award winners with flat loudspeaker in hand
From left: Dr.-Ing. Sandra Brix, Dr.-Ing. Daniel Beer and Lutz Ehrig accept the award in Erfurt on behalf of the entire research team.

For the development of flat-panel loudspeaker technology, the Fraunhofer IDMT receives one of the most highly endowed innovation prizes in the German federal states, the Thuringia Innovation Prize.Today, our institute continues to work on optimizing the sound quality of loudspeaker reproduction systems.

More information on the research topic Sound Field Control

2012

November 28, 2012

© bildschoen
From left: Dr.-Ing. Torsten Niederdränk, Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Dr. med. Birger Kollmeier, Federal President Joachim Gauck, Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Volker Hohmann.

Professor Birger Kollmeier, Oldenburg hearing researcher and head of the Fraunhofer IDMT project group Hearing, Speech and Audio Technology HSA, together with Dr. Volker Hohmann (University of Oldenburg) and Dr. Torsten Niederdränk (Siemens AG), is awarded the German Future Prize for Technology and Innovation by the Federal President Joachim Gauck.

2018

Spring 2018

Dual leadership for the Fraunhofer IDMT: Professor Udo Bechtloff (right) will support the institute's management from spring 2018.

Since spring 2018, Professor Udo Bechloff has been the second acting institute director at the Fraunhofer IDMT. Thus, the institute is preparing for Professor Brandenburg's upcoming retirement in June 2019.

2019

April 2, 2019

© Fraunhofer
Prof. Reimund Neugebauer (2nd from right), President of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, and Björn Thümler (2nd from left), Minister for Science and Culture of Lower Saxony, sign a Memorandum of Understanding at the Hannover Messe.

Together with the Lower Saxony Ministry of Science and Culture (MWK), the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft has developed an expansion plan for the Oldenburg Branch for Hearing, Speech and Audio Technology HSA to transform it into an autonomous Fraunhofer Institute.

June 2019

Professor Karlheinz Brandenburg is retiring as Director of the Fraunhofer IDMT. Since 2000, he has built up the institute, initially as a working group and from 2004 as an independent Fraunhofer Institute for Digital Media Technology IDMT. For this, he deserves our fullest thanks.

 

Karlheinz Brandenburg is now a senior professor at the TU Ilmenau and Managing Director of Brandenburg Labs.

More information on the farewell of Professor Brandenburg

October 1, 2019

Professor Joachim Bös has headed the Fraunhofer IDMT since October 1, 2019.

Professor Joachim Bös becomes the new Managing Director of the Fraunhofer IDMT. He takes over from Professor Bechtloff. At the same time, Joachim Bös accepted the professorship for "Industrial Applications of Media Technologies" at the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering at Ilmenau University of Technology.

More information on the inauguration of the new Institute Director Joachim Bös

December 2, 2019

The people involved in the founding of ORCH at a glance: (from left): Sara Werner, Holger Großmann (both Fraunhofer IDMT), Philipp Maurer (Fraunhofer IAIS), Professor Ralf Sommer (IMMS gGmbH), Professor Joachim Bös (Fraunhofer IDMT), Jörg Triebel (Thuringian Ministry of Education, Youth and Sport), Jenny Gramsch (Student Research Center, TU Ilmenau), Franziska Buchwald (IMMS gGmbH).

We are founding the first Open Roberta Coding Hub (ORCH) in Central Germany at the Ilmenau site. The ORCH was initiated together with the Student Research Center at TU Ilmenau and IMMS GmbH to teach students programming in a fun way in workshops.

2022

June 29, 2022

Zur Eröffnungsveranstaltung entstand dieser glänzende Schnappschuss: (v.l): Olaf Mollenhauer (ELMUG eG, Kompass GmbH), Ralf Pieterwas (IHK Südthüringen), Professor Raoul Klingner (Fraunhofer-Direktor Forschung), Katja Böhler (Thüringer Staatssekretärin für Forschung, Innovation und Wirtschaftsförderung), Professor Joachim Bös (Sprecher Leistungszentrum InSignA), Daniel Schultheiß (Oberbürgermeister Stadt Ilmenau), Professor Kai-Uwe Sattler (Präsident TU Ilmenau).

We are celebrating the official opening of the High Performance Center "InSignA - Intelligent Signal Analysis and Assistance Systems" together with the four Thuringian Fraunhofer institutes IKTS, IIS, IOSB-AST and IZFP, the TU Ilmenau and the IMMS Institut für Mikroelektronik- und Mechatronik-Systeme gemeinnützige GmbH.

More information about the performance center InSignA - Intelligent Signal Analysis and Assistance Systems

September 9, 2022

© Copyright: Fraunhofer IDMT/Leona Hofmann
Björn Thümler ( in the middle), Lower Saxony's Minister for Science and Culture, emphasized at the meeting with Professor Birger Kollmeier (left) and Jens-E. Appell (right) that the strategic course had been set for the foundation of an autonomous institute.

The Oldenburg branch of the institute receives a significant financial contribution from the "Fraunhofer Initiative Lower Saxony" as a source of reliable expansion prospects. The funding from the Lower Saxony Ministry of Science and Culture (MWK) and the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft (FhG) is being awarded to the Oldenburg branch of the institute for outstanding achievements in health research. According to Minister Thümler, this strategic agreement could be used to start planning for the institute's own building.

2024

© unsplash/Catherine Merlin

Open your eyes and ears! In addition to a review of 20 years of the institute's history, an anniversary also includes a look ahead to what is coming. Find out about our current research topics and news on our website.

More information on the research topics

News

20 Jahre Fraunhofer IDMT

Unser Fraunhofer IDMT feiert in diesem Jahr 20-jähriges Bestehen. Und das muss zelebriert werden. Ein Jahr lang werden wir auf dieser Jubiläumsseite immer wieder Beiträge veröffentlichen - Rückblicke, Ausblicke, Videobotschaften und Berichte über unsere verschiedenen Events im Jubiläumsjahr. Die Seite wird sich also über das Jahr mit bunten Beiträgen füllen. 

Wir freuen uns auf ein spannendes Jubiläumsjahr 2024!

#20 Jahre IDMT – Unsere Veranstaltungen im Jubiläumsjahr

 

Event / 17.4.2024

Unsere Baumpflanzaktion im Jubiläumsjahr

Event / 22.5.2024

Jubiläumsfeier

Mit unseren Gästen blicken wir auf 20 Jahre Fraunhofer IDMT zurück. Außerdem präsentieren wir aktuelle Forschungsthemen zum Erleben und ein buntes Rahmenprogramm für unsere Gäste. 

Weitere Informationen folgen in Kürze.

 

Event / 10.10.2024

Jubiläumsausgabe der Fraunhofer Talent School

Doppelgeburtstag! Unsere Fraunhofer Talent School Ilmenau wird 15 Jahre!

#20 Jahre IDMT – Unsere Beiträge im Jubiläumsjahr

 

Für die Analyse von Industriegeräuschen ahmen wir das menschliche Gehör mittels akustischer Messtechnik und KI nach. 

 

Wir entwickeln effiziente und adaptive Sensorkonzepte für die unterschiedlichsten Einsatzbereiche und Anforderungen.

 

Forschung im Fokus. Erfahren Sie in den kommenden Wochen mehr über unsere innovativen Forschungsthemen am Standort Ilmenau.

 

Video / 10.1.2024

Gehen Sie mit uns auf eine kurze Zeitreise und erleben Sie in unserem Video, wie unser Institutsgebäude damals entstanden ist. 

 

Wir feiern 20-jähriges IDMT-Bestehen! Wahnsinn, wie schnell die Zeit verging! Seit dem 1. Januar 2004 gibt es unser Fraunhofer IDMT nun schon.

Hier erhalten Sie einen Überblick über ausgewählte Ereignisse der letzten 20 Jahre Fraunhofer IDMT Geschichte. 

2000

19. Mai 2000

Eröffnungsfeier der Fraunhofer-Arbeitsgruppe AEMT im Jahr 2000.
Eröffnungsfeier Fraunhofer-Arbeitsgruppe AEMT im Jahr 2000 an der TU Ilmenau.

Gründung der Fraunhofer-Arbeitsgruppe für Elektronische Medientechnologie AEMT. Die Arbeitsgruppe gehört zum Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS in Erlangen. mp3-Entwickler Professor Karlheinz Brandenburg übernimmt die Leitung der Arbeitsgruppe und des Fachgebiets Elektronische Medientechnik an der TU Ilmenau.

20. Oktober 2000

Die Preisträger des Deutschen Forschungspreises 2000 stehen mit der Auszeichung auf der Bühne.
© Deutscher Zukunftspreis/Henning Scheffen
Von links: Dipl.-Ing. Harald Popp, Professor Karlheinz Brandenburg, Bundespräsident Johannes Rau, Professor Bernhard Grill

Der Deutsche Zukunftspreis 2000 für die Entwicklung des Audiocodierverfahrens mp3 geht an den Leiter der Ilmenauer Fraunhofer-Arbeitsgruppe AEMT, Professor Karlheinz Brandenburg, und seine Forschungskollegen vom Fraunhofer IIS, Professor Bernhard Grill und Harald Popp. 

2004

1. Januar 2004

Karlheinz Brandenburg steht am Rednerpult zur Gründungsfeier des Fraunhofer IDMT.
Der Leiter des Fraunhofer IDMT, Professor Karlheinz Brandenburg, zur Eröffnungsfeier am 27. April 2004 in der Ilmenauer Festhalle.

Nach erfolgreicher Evaluierung wurde mit Beginn des Jahres 2004 aus der Fraunhofer-Arbeitsgruppe das eigenständige Fraunhofer-Institut für Digitale Medientechnologie IDMT. Dies wurde am 27. April 2004 im Rahmen einer Eröffnungsfeier mit zahlreichen Vertreterinnen und Vertretern aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Politik gebührend gefeiert.

20. Oktober 2004

Die drei Fraunhofer-Preis Gewinner stehen in einem Labor mit Technik.
© Fraunhofer
Von links: Eric Allamanche, Jürgen Herre und Markus Cremer erhalten 2004 den Joseph-von-Fraunhofer-Preis für AudioID.

Der Joseph-von-Fraunhofer Forschungspreis für die Musikerkennungstechnologie AudioID geht an Marcus Cremer vom Fraunhofer IDMT und seine Forschungskollegen vom Fraunhofer IIS, Eric Allamanche und Jürgen Herre. Noch heute arbeiten wir am Fraunhofer IDMT an Fragestellungen rund um das Thema intelligenten Musikanalyse. 

Mehr Informationen  zum Forschungsthema Automatische Musikanalyse

10. Februar 2004

Die Preisträger des Forschungspreises: Prof. Thomas Sporer, Diemer de Vries, Dr. Sandra Brix und Prof. Karlheinz Brandenburg.
Die Preisträger des Thüringer Forschungspreises für Angewandte Forschung 2003 (v.l.): Professor Thomas Sporer, Dr.-Ing. Sandra Brix, der niederländische Laudator Professor Diemer de Vries und Professor Karlheinz Brandenburg.

Das Fraunhofer IDMT erhält den Thüringer Forschungspreis 2003 für die Entwicklung der Wellenfeldsynthesetechnologie. Diese bildet die wissenschaftliche Grundlage unserer 3D-Soundtechnologie SpatialSound Wave.

Mehr Informationen zur 3D-Soundtechnologie SpatialSound Wave

2006

30. März 2006

Regieraum der Seebühne Bregenz mit Monitoren und Blick auf die Bühne.
© Event Elevator
Seit 2006 sorgt die 3D-Soundtechnologie des Fraunhofer IDMT auf der weltweit größten Seebühne in Bregenz für beeindruckende Hörerlebnisse.

Der deutsche Bühnenpreis »Opus« für das innovative Klangsystem »Bregenz Open Acoustics (BOA)« geht an die Bregenzer Festspiele in der Kategorie »Sounddesign«. An der Entwicklung von BOA war das Fraunhofer IDMT entscheidend beteiligt. 

September 2006

Der Bau unseres neuen Ilmenauer Institutsgebäudes auf dem Campus der TU Ilmenau beginnt. Sehen Sie hier noch einmal den Bau des Gebäudes in einem kurzen Zeitraffervideo.

18. Dezember 2006

Karlheinz Brandenburg hält sein Bundesverdienstkreuz in den Händen.
Mit dieser Auszeichnung würdigt das Land Thüringen die herausragenden wissenschaftlichen Leistungen von Professor Brandenburg.

Institutsleiter Professor Karlheinz Brandenburg erhält das Verdienstkreuz am Bande des Verdienstordens der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Überreicht wird die hohe Auszeichnung der Bundesrepublik Deutschland vom Thüringer Minister für Bundes- und Europaangelegenheiten, Gerold Wucherpfenning.

2008

1. August 2008

Prof. Kollmeier, der damalige Minister für Wissenschaft und Kultur Lutz Stratmann, die damalige kommissarische Universitätspräsidentin Heide Ahrens und Prof. Karlheinz. Brandenburg zur offiziellen Gründungsfeier der Oldenburger Außenstelle des Fraunhofer IDMT.
Von links: Der Leiter der Oldenburger Institutsteils, Professor Birger Kollmeier, der Niedersächsische Minister für Wissenschaft und Kultur, Lutz Stratmann, die kommissarische Präsidentin der Universität Oldenburg, Heide Ahrens, und Institutsleiter des Fraunhofer IDMT, Professor Karlheinz Brandenburg.

Die Fraunhofer IDMT Projektgruppe Hör-, Sprach- und Audiotechnologie HSA wird am Standort Oldenburg unter Leitung von Professor Birger Kollmeier und Jens-E. Appell gegründet. Heute arbeiten die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter am Oldenburger Institutsteil an den Themen Sprach- und Ereigniserkennung, Klangqualität und Sprachverständlichkeit sowie Mobile Neurotechnologie und Systeme für eine vernetzte Gesundheitsversorgung.

Mehr Informationen zum Institutsteil Hör-, Sprach- und Audiotechnologie HSA

11. November 2008

Institutsleiter Karlheinz Brandenburg bekommt den symbolischen Schlüssel für das neue Institutsgebäude.
Feierliche Schlüsselübergabe des Architekten an den Institutsleiter Professor Karlheinz Brandenburg.

Das neue Ilmenauer Institutsgebäude wird mit einer symbolischen Schlüsselübergabe feierlich eingeweiht.

2010

14. September 2010

Bundespräsident Wulff und andere Gäste werden im IDMT von einem Roboter begrüßt.
Bundespräsident Christian Wullf (Bildmitte) und seine mitreisenden Gäste werden 2010 von einem Serviceroboter charmant im Institutsgebäude begrüßt.

Bundespräsident Christian Wulff besucht das Fraunhofer IDMT in Ilmenau gemeinsam mit dem diplomatischen Korps. 

28. September 2010

Gruppenbild der Peisträger mit Flachlautsprecher in der Hand
Von links: Dr.-Ing. Sandra Brix, Dr.-Ing. Daniel Beer und Lutz Ehrig nehmen stellvertretend für das gesamte Forschungsteam die Auszeichnung in Erfurt entgegen.

Für die Entwicklung der Flachlautsprechertechnologie erhält das Fraunhofer IDMT einen der höchstdotierten Innovationspreise der deutschen Bundesländer, den Innovationspreis Thüringen. Auch heute arbeitet unser Institut an der klanglichen Optimierung von Lautsprecherwiedergabesystemen.

Mehr Informationen zum Forschungsthema Sound Field Control

2012

28. November 2012

Bild der Zukunftspreisträger 2012
© bildschoen
Von links: Dr.-Ing. Torsten Niederdränk, Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Dr. med. Birger Kollmeier, Bundespräsident Joachim Gauck, Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Volker Hohmann.

Professor Birger Kollmeier, Oldenburger Hörforscher und Leiter der Fraunhofer IDMT Projektgruppe Hör-, Sprach- und Audiotechnologie HSA, wird gemeinsam mit Dr. Volker Hohmann (Universität Oldenburg) und Dr. Torsten Niederdränk (Siemens AG) vom Bundespräsidenten Joachim Gauck mit dem Deutschen Zukunftspreis für Technik und Innovation ausgezeichnet.

2018

Frühjahr 2018

Doppelspitze für das Fraunhofer IDMT: Professor Udo Bechtloff (re.) unterstützt ab dem Frühjahr 2018 die Institutsleitung.

Seit dem Frühjahr 2018 gibt es mit Professor Udo Bechloff einen zweiten, kommissarischen Institutsleiter am Fraunhofer IDMT. Damit wird der Übergang für die im Juni 2019 bevorstehende Verabschiedung von Professor Brandenburg in dessen wohlverdienten (Un)Ruhestand vorbereitet.

Mehr Informationen zur Doppelspitze am Fraunhofer IDMT

2019

2. April 2019

© Fraunhofer
Prof. Reimund Neugebauer (2.v.r.), Präsident der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, und Björn Thümler (2.v.l.), Niedersächsischer Minister für Wissenschaft und Kultur, unterzeichnen im Rahmen der Hannover Messe ein Memorandum of Understanding.

Gemeinsam mit dem Niedersächsischen Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kultur (MWK) hat die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft eine Ausbauplanung für den Oldenburger Institutsteil HSA entwickelt, um ihn in ein eigenständiges Fraunhofer-Institut zu überführen.

Mehr Informationen zur Unterzeichnung der gemeinsamen Ausbauplanung

Juni 2019

Porträtbild Professor Karlheinz Brandenburg

Professor Karlheinz Brandenburg wird als Institutsleiter des Fraunhofer IDMT verabschiedet. Seit 2000 hat der das Institut zunächst als Arbeitsgruppe und ab 2004 als eigenständiges Fraunhofer-Institut für Digitale Medientechnologie IDMT aufgebaut. Dafür gebührt ihm unser vollster Dank.

Bist heute ist Karlheinz Brandenburg als Senior-Professor an der TU Ilmenau und Geschäftsführer der Brandenburg Labs tätig. 

Mehr Informationen zur Verabschiedung von Professor Brandenburg

1. Oktober 2019

Porträtbild von Institutsleiter Joachim Bös
Professor Joachim Bös leitet seit dem 1. Oktober 2019 das Fraunhofer IDMT.

Professor Joachim Bös wird neuer geschäftsführender Institutsleiter des Fraunhofer IDMT. Er übernimmt damit die Leitung von Professor Bechtloff. Joachim Bös übernahm zeitgleich die Professur des Fachgebiets »Industrielle Anwendungen von Medientechnologien« an der Fakultät für Maschinenbau der Technischen Universität Ilmenau. 

Mehr Informationen zum Amtsantritt des neuen Institutsleiters Joachim Bös

2. Dezember 2019

Gruppenbild zur Gründungsfeier des Open Roberta Coding Hubs Ilmenau
Die an der Gründung des ORCH beteiligten Personen auf einen Blick: (v.l.): Sara Werner, Holger Großmann (beide Fraunhofer IDMT), Philipp Maurer (Fraunhofer IAIS), Professor Ralf Sommer (IMMS gGmbH), Professor Joachim Bös (Fraunhofer IDMT), Jörg Triebel (Thüringer Ministerium für Bildung, Jugend und Sport), Jenny Gramsch (Schülerforschungszentrum, TU Ilmenau), Franziska Buchwald (IMMS gGmbH).

Wir gründen am Standort Ilmenau das erste Open Roberta Coding Hub (ORCH) in Mitteldeutschland. Das ORCH wurde gemeinsam mit dem Schülerforschungszentrum der TU Ilmenau und der IMMS GmbH initiiert, um Schülerinnen und Schülern in Workshops spielerisch das Programmieren zu vermitteln.

Mehr Informationen zum Open Roberta Coding Hub Ilmenau

2022

29. Juni 2022

Persönlichkeiten halten Ballons, die den Schriftzug InSIGNA ergeben..
Zur Eröffnungsveranstaltung entstand dieser glänzende Schnappschuss: (v.l): Olaf Mollenhauer (ELMUG eG, Kompass GmbH), Ralf Pieterwas (IHK Südthüringen), Professor Raoul Klingner (Fraunhofer-Direktor Forschung), Katja Böhler (Thüringer Staatssekretärin für Forschung, Innovation und Wirtschaftsförderung), Professor Joachim Bös (Sprecher Leistungszentrum InSignA), Daniel Schultheiß (Oberbürgermeister Stadt Ilmenau), Professor Kai-Uwe Sattler (Präsident TU Ilmenau).

Wir feiern die Eröffnung des Leistungszentrums InSignA – Intelligente Signalanalyse- und Assistenzsysteme gemeinsam mit den vier Thüringer Fraunhofer-Einrichtungen IKTS, IIS, IOSB-AST und IZFP, der TU Ilmenau und der IMMS Institut für Mikroelektronik- und Mechatronik-Systeme gemeinnützige GmbH. 

Mehr Informationen zum Leistungszentrum InSignA – Intelligente Signalanalyse- und Assistenzsysteme

9. September 2022

© Fraunhofer IDMT/Leona Hofmann
Zur Eröffnungsveranstaltung entstand dieser glänzende Schnappschuss: (v.l): Olaf Mollenhauer (ELMUG eG, Kompass GmbH), Ralf Pieterwas (IHK Südthüringen), Professor Raoul Klingner (Fraunhofer-Direktor Forschung), Katja Böhler (Thüringer Staatssekretärin für Forschung, Innovation und Wirtschaftsförderung), Professor Joachim Bös (Sprecher Leistungszentrum InSignA), Daniel Schultheiß (Oberbürgermeister Stadt Ilmenau), Professor Kai-Uwe Sattler (Präsident TU Ilmenau).

Der Institutsteil HSA erhält durch die »Fraunhofer-Initiative Niedersachsen« ein umfangreiches Finanzpaket als verlässliche Ausbauperspektive. Die Förderung durch das niedersächsische Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kultur (MWK) sowie die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft (FhG) kommt dem Oldenburger Institutsteil für herausragende Leistungen in der Gesundheitsforschung zuteil. Mit dieser Strategievereinbarung könnten laut Minister Thümler die Planungen für ein eigenes Institutsgebäude in Angriff genommen werden. 

Mehr Informationen zur Fraunhofer-Initiative Niedersachsen

2024

© unsplash/Catherine Merlin

Augen und Lauscher auf! Neben einer Rückschau auf 20 Jahre Institutsgeschichte gehört zu einem Jubiläum auch der Ausblick auf das, was kommt. Informieren Sie sich gerne auf unseren Webseiten über unsere aktuellen Forschungsthemen und Neuigkeiten. 

Mehr Informationen zu den Forschungsthemen

Neuigkeiten