Digger – Deepfake Detection

Deepfakes are a real threat to society. Human inspection of audiovisual material is often not enough to make a judgement about its authenticity. With currently available technologies, it is not possible to reliably check whether the material has been altered.

The Digger project aims to use visual verification and audio forensics technologies to detect both shallow fakes as well as deepfakes or other types of synthetic media. The web-based verification platform Truly.Media, which was developed by Deutsche Welle and Athens Technology Center, will be extended with Fraunhofer IDMT’s audio forensics technologies. Using the platform, journalists will be able to carry out joint analyses to identify fake material. 

Responsibilities of Fraunhofer IDMT

As a technical  partner with experience in audio forensics, Fraunhofer IDMT will create and provide a secure REST API to be used for trustworthy audio analysis. The REST API will be implemented in the verification platform Truly.Media providing journalists access to the Fraunhofer IDMT audio forensics technologies for tampering detection. 

Partners

  • Deutsche Welle, Germany
  • Athens Technology Center, Greece

Sponsors

This project has received funding from the Google Digital News Initiative Fund (DNI Fund).

Duration

2019 – 2021

Digger – Deepfake Detection

Deepfakes sind eine echte Bedrohung für die Gesellschaft. Für das menschliche Auge oder Ohr sind Manipulationen von audiovisuellem Material nicht immer zu erkennen und es lässt sich oft nicht mit Sicherheit sagen, ob es sich um authentisches Material handelt. Ob Bilder, Audiodateien oder Videos manipuliert wurden, lässt sich mit aktuell verfügbaren Technologien nicht zuverlässig überprüfen.

Das Digger-Projekt hat zum Ziel, Technologien zur visuellen Verifikation und Audioforensik-Technologien miteinander zu kombinieren und auf diese Weise sowohl Shallowfakes als auch Deepfakes oder andere Arten von synthetisch erzeugten Medien aufzuspüren. Die web-basierte Verifikationsplattform Truly.Media, die von Deutsche Welle und dem Athens Technology Center entwickelt wurde, wird um die Audioforensik-Technologien des Fraunhofer IDMT erweitert. Mit diesem digitalen "Detektiv-Toolkit" werden Journalisten in der Lage sein, gemeinsame Materialanalysen durchzuführen, um Fälschungen zu erkennen. 

Aufgabenbereich Fraunhofer IDMT

Als technischer Partner mit Audioforensik-Expertise entwickelt das Fraunhofer IDMT eine sichere REST-API und stellt diese zur Nutzung für eine vertrauenswürdige Audioanalyse bereit. Die REST-API wird in die Verifizierungsplattform Truly.Media implementiert. Journalisten haben so die Möglichkeit, Manipulationen mit Hilfe der Audioforensik-Technologien des Fraunhofer IDMT zu erkennen.

Beteiligte Partner

  • Deutsche Welle, Deutschland
  • Athens Technology Center, Griechenland

Förderer

Digger wird durch den Google Digital News Initiative Fund (DNI-Fonds) finanziert.

Laufzeit

2019 – 2021