AudioCAT - Maritime competence assessment via voice-controlled computer dialogue systems

Navigation with AudioCAT
© Fraunhofer IDMT/Daniel Schmidt
Navigation with AudioCAT

Ship crews are recruited from many different countries, which results in multinational teams. These teams have to navigate ships safely and efficiently. Mistakes in navigating the ship can cause immense costs. Therefore, the complex socio-technical environment on board places high demands on the crew. The shipping companies carefully screen their candidates to turn culturally diverse individuals into a well-functioning team. Interactive computer systems can support the process of testing professional qualifications and soft skills.  

Objectives and procedure

The AudioCAT system to be developed in the project is intended to put the prospective ship's personnel in the situation of driving a ship and test their abilities under realistic conditions. The system will provide practical tasks (e.g. navigation) via a screen while at the same time conducting a spontaneous and authentic conversation with the test taker. Nautical knowledge and soft skills are evaluated in the background. The research focus of the project is also on the automatic recognition of non-native English utterances, on intelligent and authentic computer dialogues and on algorithms for evaluating nautical competencies and soft skills such as resilience under stress.

Innovations and perspectives

The introduction of a computer dialogue system and automated competence testing enables an objective and efficient evaluation of technical and soft skills under realistic conditions and provides a completely new type of competence testing.  

Partners

  • Safebridge GmbH, Hamburg (Coordination)
  • Jade Hochschule Wilhelmshaven-Oldenburg-Elsfleth

Sponsors

Federal Ministry of Education and Research Germany

Project Volume

  • EUR 1.13 million (75% of which funded by the BMBF)

Duration

  • 03/2019 - 02/2022

AudioCAT - Maritime Kompetenzprüfung über sprachgesteuerte Computerdialogsysteme

Navigation mit AudioCAT
© Fraunhofer IDMT/Daniel Schmidt
Navigation mit AudioCAT

Schiffsbesatzungen werden aus vielen verschiedenen Ländern rekrutiert, sodass multinationale Teams entstehen. Diese müssen Schiffe sicher und effizient navigieren, da Fehler beim Führen des Schiffes große Sicherheitsrisiken darstellen und immens hohe Kosten verursachen können. Die komplexe soziotechnische Umgebung an Bord stellt daher hohe Anforderungen an die Besatzung. Die Reedereien prüfen die Anwärter sorgfältig, um aus kulturell sehr unterschiedlichen Menschen ein gut funktionierendes Team zusammenzustellen. Interaktive Computersysteme können bei der Prüfung von beruflichen Qualifikationen und Soft Skills unterstützen.

Ziele und Vorgehen

Das im Projekt zu entwickelnde AudioCAT-System soll für das angehende Schiffspersonal eine Situation wie beim Führen eines Schiffes simulieren und ihre Fähigkeiten unter realitätsnahen Bedingungen testen. Das System wird über einen Bildschirm berufspraktische Aufgaben (z. B. Navigation) stellen, während es parallel ein spontanes und authentisches Gespräch mit der Testperson führt. Im Hintergrund werden das nautische Wissen und die Soft Skills ausgewertet. Die Forschungsschwerpunkte im Projekt liegen auf der automatischen Erkennung auch nicht-englisch-muttersprachlicher Äußerungen, auf intelligenten und authentischen Computerdialogen und auf Algorithmen zur Bewertung von nautischen Kompetenzen und Soft Skills wie Resilienz unter Stress.

 

Innovationen und Perspektiven

Die Einführung von Computerdialogsystem und automatisierter Kompetenzprüfung ermöglichen eine objektive und effiziente Auswertung von fachlichen und weichen Kompetenzen unter realistischen Bedingungen und liefern eine völlig neue Art der Kompetenzprüfung.

Beteiligte Partner

  • Safebridge GmbH, Hamburg (Koordination)
  • Jade Hochschule Wilhelmshaven-Oldenburg-Elsfleth

Förderung

Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung BMBF

Projektvolumen

  • 1,13 Mio. EUR (davon 75% Förderanteil durch BMBF)

Laufzeit

  • 03/2019 - 02/2022